BLOG TOUR: The Cost of Living by Rachel Ward

The Cost of LivingTitle: The Cost of Living by Rachel Ward
Pages: 320
Published by: Sandstone Press
Publication date: 21st September 2017
Genre: Contemporary/Thrillers & Mystery
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

When a young woman is brutally attacked on her way home from the local supermarket, checkout girl Bea is determined to find out who’s responsible. She enlists the help of Ant, the seemingly gormless new trainee – but can she really trust him? Customers and colleagues become suspects, secrets are uncovered, and while fear stalks the town, Bea risks losing the people she loves most.

Continue reading

Advertisements

BLOG TOUR: Wychwood by George Mann

WychwoodTitle: Wychwood by George Mann
Pages: 400
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 12th September 2017
Genre: Thrillers & Mystery
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis: 

After losing her job and her partner in one fell swoop, journalist Elspeth Myers is back in her mum’s house in the sleepy Oxfordshire village of Wilsby-under-Wychwood, wondering where it all went wrong. Then a body is found in the neighbouring Wychwoods: a woman ritually slaughtered, with cryptic symbols scattered around her corpse. Elspeth recognizes the symbols from an ancient local myth of the Carrion King, a Saxon magician who once held a malevolent court deep in the Wychwoods. As more murders follow, Elspeth joins her childhood friend DS Peter Shaw to investigate, and the two discover sinister village secrets harping back decades.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Daughter of the Burning CityTitle: Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody
Pages: 384
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Publication date: 25th July 2017
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Hardback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis: 

Sixteen-year-old Sorina has spent most of her life within the smoldering borders of the Gomorrah Festival. Yet even among the many unusual members of the traveling circus-city, Sorina stands apart as the only illusion-worker born in hundreds of years. This rare talent allows her to create illusions that others can see, feel and touch, with personalities all their own. Her creations are her family, and together they make up the cast of the Festival’s Freak Show.

But no matter how lifelike they may seem, her illusions are still just that–illusions, and not truly real. Or so she always believed…until one of them is murdered.

Desperate to protect her family, Sorina must track down the culprit and determine how they killed a person who doesn’t actually exist. Her search for answers leads her to the self-proclaimed gossip-worker Luca. Their investigation sends them through a haze of political turmoil and forbidden romance, and into the most sinister corners of the Festival. But as the killer continues murdering Sorina’s illusions one by one, she must unravel the horrifying truth before all her loved ones disappear.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell (Spellslinger #1)

Title: Spellslinger by Sebastien De CastellSpellslinger Pages: 416
Published by: Hot Key Books
Publication date: 4th May 2017
Genre: Fantasy/Magic
Format: Hardback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis: 

MAGIC IS A CON GAME.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone.

As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path.

Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi – a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Warlock Holmes: The Hell-hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning (Warlock Holmes #2)

Warlock HolmesTitle: Warlock Holmes: The Hell-hound of the Baskervilles by G.S. Denning
Pages: 395
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 16th May 2017
Genre: Crime Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis: 

The game’s afoot once more as the long-suffering Dr. John Watson and a bedridden and somewhat pungent Warlock Holmes (though he’s getting better) face off against Moriaty’s gang, the Pinkertons, flesh-eating horses, a parliament of imps, boredom, Surrey, a succubus, an overly Canadian aristocrat, a tricycle fight to the death and the dreaded Pumpcrow. Oh, and a hell-hound, one assumes.

Continue reading

ARC REVIEW: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

Emma in the NightTitle: Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker
Pages: 319
Published by: HQ
Publication date: 8th August 2017
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: eBook
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis:

Two sisters go missing.
Only one returns.

We believe what we want to believe. We believe what we need to believe.

When my sister and I disappeared three years ago, they found Emma’s car at the beach. Some people believed she had gone there to find a party or meet a friend who never showed. They believed that she’d gone for a swim. They believed that she’d drowned. Maybe by accident. Maybe a suicide.

Everyone believed Emma was dead.

As for me, well – it was not as simple as that.

Continue reading

REVIEW: One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus

One Of Us Is LyingTitle: One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus
Pages: 360
Published by: Penguin
Publication date: 30th May 2017
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis:

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule. Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond. Bad body Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime. Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life. And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online.

Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects. Everyone has secrets, right?

Continue reading