REVIEW: Nightwatching by Tracy Sierra

Title: Nightwatching by Tracy Sierra
Published by: 
Viking
Publication date:
 8th February 2024
Genre: Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK

Synopsis

There was someone in the house.

Home alone with her young children during a blizzard, a mother tucks her son back into bed in the middle of the night. Then she hears a noise – old houses are always making some kind of noise. But this sound is disturbingly familiar: it’s the tread of footsteps, unusually heavy and slow, coming up the stairs…

In that split second, she has three choices.

Should she hide? Should she run? Or should she fight?

My review:

Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

This is a very intense thriller and you’ll definitely be on the edge of your seat for most of it. I went into it thinking it was going to be similar to A Window Breaks by C.M. Ewan but it took me by complete surprise!

There’s a few things I predicted but the main plot kept surprising me. The twists throughout were fantastic and I found myself torn between believing the main character and doubting her reliability. I honestly had no idea what to expect when it came to the ending as the author does an incredible job of pulling you in different directions so you don’t know what to believe.

I don’t want to say anything more about it in case I spoil what happens. It’s best you go into this one blind as you’ll get the most out of it that way. It’s an incredible thriller and I wholeheartedly recommend it!

Leave a comment