BLOG TOUR: Mr Jones by Alex Woolf

Title: Mr Jones by Alex Woolf
Published by: 
IndieNovella
Publication date: 
January 2022
Genre: Horror/Psychological thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

Ben hears noises in his basement and witnesses weird goings-on in his local park. His eight-year-old daughter Imogen starts receiving messages from someone claiming to be her missing mother. And then there is Mr Jones —the man who haunts the imaginations of the children at Imogen’s school. But they are just stories, surely? Ben soon develops a creeping suspicion that someone is out to kidnap his daughter. Are his fears real or a result of his own stress-induced paranoia?

Continue reading

ARC REVIEW: Never Saw Me Coming by Vera Kurian

Title: Never Saw Me Coming by Vera Kurian
Pages: 400
Published by: Harvill Secker
Publication date: 9th September 2021
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

Meet Chloe. First-year student, ordinary, legging-wearing, girl next door…and highly intelligent diagnosed psychopath.

Chloe is part of a secret clinical study of young psychopaths run by the university’s Psychology Department. Most psychopaths aren’t criminals, but when a string of murders on campus causes upheaval, Chloe’s private vendetta is sidelined. Partnered with fellow study participants she can’t trust – and distracted by typical university life – Chloe has to walk the line between hunter and prey.

Perfect for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Killing Eve and The Secret History, Never Saw Me coming is a sharp, electrifying and hugely entertaining thriller with an antiheroine who will work her manipulative magic on you.

Continue reading

BLOG TOUR: Sleepless by Louise Mumford

Title: Sleepless by Louise Mumford
Pages: 384
Published by: HQ
Publication date: 10th December 2020
Genre: Thriller/Sci-Fi
Format: eBook
Amazon UK

Synopsis:

Don’t close your eyes. Don’t fall asleep. Don’t let them in.

Thea is an insomniac; she hasn’t slept more than three hours a night for years.

So when an ad for a sleep trial that promises to change her life pops up on her phone, Thea knows this is her last chance at finding any kind of normal life.

Soon Thea’s sleeping for longer than she has in a decade, and awakes feeling transformed. So much so that at first she’s willing to overlook the oddities of the trial – the lack of any phone signal; the way she can’t leave her bedroom without permission; the fact that all her personal possessions are locked away, even her shoes.

But it soon becomes clear that the trial doesn’t just want to help Thea sleep. It wants to control her sleep…

Continue reading

BLOG TOUR: She Lies Close by Sharon Doering

Title: She Lies Close by Sharon Doering
Pages: 400
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 8th September 2020
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis: 

Five-year-old Ava Boone vanished without a trace six months ago. No witnesses, no sightings or arrests. But Grace Wright just moved in next door to the only suspect the case had: quiet, middle-aged Leland Ernest.

Recently divorced, Grace uprooted her two small children to start again and hopes the move will reset her crippling insomnia. With whispered neighborhood gossip and increasingly sleepless nights, Grace develops a fierce obsession with Leland and the safety of her children. Could she really be living next door to a child-kidnapper? A murderer?

With reality and dream blurring more each day, Grace desperately pursues the truth – following Ava’s family, demanding answers from the police – and then a body is discovered…

Continue reading

BLOG TOUR: The Guesthouse by Abbie Frost

book jacketTitle: The Guesthouse by Abbie Frost
Pages: 320
Published by: HarperCollins
Publication date: 9th January 2020
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

You use an app, called Cloud BNB, to book a room online. And on a cold and windy afternoon you arrive at The Guesthouse, a dramatic old building on a remote stretch of hillside in Ireland.

You are expecting a relaxing break, but you find something very different. Something unimaginable. Because a killer has lured you and six other guests here and now you can’t escape.

One thing’s for certain: not all of you will come back from this holiday alive…

Continue reading

Christmas Book Haul!

Hey everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and an awesome time with your loved ones. Today I thought I’d share with you all the books I received this month. I said in my TBR post that I took part in a festive book exchange so quite a lot of books came from there.

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty: I’ve been loving crime thrillers involving wellness retreats and a bunch of friends or strangers being stuck together in the middle of nowhere with no connection to the outside world. The ones I have read have been really intense and Liane Moriarty is a very popular author so I’m really excited to try this one!

Continue reading

REVIEW: Closer Than You Think by Lee Maguire

Closer Than You ThinkTitle: Closer Than You Think by Lee Maguire
Pages: 314
Published by: TCK Publishing
Publication date: 22nd October 2018
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: eBook
Amazon UK

Synopsis: 

Meet Bryce Davison, a gifted psychologist who can heal any troubled mind—except his own.

You see, Bryce’s life is falling apart. His marriage is crumbling. His insomnia brings only half-sleep and troubled dreams—visions of dark and buried memories he’d rather forget or ignore completely. And the new female patient in his psych ward just might be more trouble than he’s able to cope with.

…and now he has a stalker.

Somebody’s been watching Bryce for a long time. Somebody who knows his life inside and out—his fears, his regrets, his greatest longings and deepest despairs. Somebody with access to his most private places—his workplace, his home, his family…anywhere Bryce might have felt safe.

They do their dirty work in the shadows… and they want Bryce Davison dead.

So Bryce has got to get his life together. To save his patients. To save his family. To save his marriage…and his life.

Because no matter how close Bryce gets to the deadly truth, the enigmatic stalker is always closer than he thinks.

Continue reading

April 2019 Wrap Up!

Hey guys! I absolutely smashed it again this month. Don’t ask me how but I managed to read 10 books and 1 comic. I never read this many books in one month but lately I have been flying through my TBR! All the books I read were crime thrillers which were all vastly different from one another. I seem to be in a crime mood lately and I’m loving it! Here’s what I read in April:

The Puppet Show by M.W. Craven: This is the first book in a series and I don’t think I will be reading the second one. My favourite thing about this was the gruesome plot. It was absolutely horrifying as people were literally being burned alive at a stake and to make it even more chilling, it was all happening in prehistoric stone circles. Talk about unsettling! Sadly what let this book down was the characters. They were not likeable at all and they didn’t feel fully fleshed out. It felt like they were all missing something but I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was. I also didn’t like the writing that much — it just wasn’t pulling me. I didn’t find the story engaging at all; I could have easily put the book down and not picked it back up. After hearing everyone raving about this I was sadly left feeling disappointed.

Lies by T.M. Logan: T.M. Logan has easily shot to the top of my list for authors to watch out for. We’ve all made split-second decisions and not really considered the consequences because usually it pays off. But what if it didn’t? What if your decision actually had dire consequences and your life is thrown into crisis? This is the situation Joe finds himself in after defending his wife from a family friend. From this moment on, his life will never be the same and he is forced to question whether he can really trust those closest to him. I loved this book so much! It was such a creepy and unsettling thriller, full of so many jaw-dropping twists! I was on the edge of my seat throughout and I didn’t see the ending coming at all. 

Continue reading

BLOG TOUR: In Her Bones by Kate Moretti

In Her BonesTitle: In Her Bones by Kate Moretti
Pages: 432
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 2nd October 2018
Genre: Thriller/Mystery
Format: Paperback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis:

Fifteen years ago, Lilith Wade was arrested for the brutal murder of six women. After a death row conviction and media frenzy, her thirty-year-old daughter Edie is a recovering alcoholic with a dead-end city job, just trying to survive out of the spotlight.

Edie also has a disturbing secret: a growing obsession with the families of Lilith’s victims. She’s desperate to discover how they’ve managed–or failed–to move on, and whether they’ve fared better than her. She’s been careful to keep her distance, until the day one of them is found murdered and she quickly becomes the prime suspect. Edie remembers nothing of the night of the death, and must get to the truth before the police–or the real killer–find her.

Continue reading