Top 5 Favourite Books!

Hey guys! A lot of you are probably thinking that it’s impossible to narrow down five favourite books from the hundreds you own but these are some that I just love so much. Whenever someone asks me what my favourite books are I automatically list these five. So I thought I would share them with you all and it’s a very odd mix! Enjoy!

the book thief1) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This is my favourite book, ever. Whenever someone asks me what my favourite book is I always say The Book Thief and if they ask me why I say because it’s narrated by Death. This is the most intriguing book I’ve ever read. I bloody loved it. Death is so interesting as a narrator and I loved all the random facts we were given. It puts Death in a different light because you start to see him as a person who has feelings just like we do. It was just an extremely captivating story and I became so attached to all of the characters. The ending was so emotional I cried for a while after I’d finished it. This is honestly one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read and I’m so glad it exists!

 

Continue reading

Advertisements

Life/Blog Update!

Hey guys! I don’t normally do these kinds of posts but next week there will be a slight change to my posting schedule! I applied for a job a few weeks ago and was absolutely thrilled to be offered the position! It’s Monday to Friday 40hrs per week so I’m going to have very little time to read or work on my blog. I currently post three times a week: Monday, Wednesday and Friday but starting from next week I will only be posting Wednesday and Friday. I think it’s going to be difficult to post three times a week with a full time job so hopefully I can manage two times a week instead.

Thought I’d throw in a couple of book pictures for you all!

Continue reading

Book Series I’ve Quit!

Hey guys! I always talk about series I bloody adore and have become attached to but I don’t really talk about ones I haven’t got on with! I thought it’d be interesting for you guys to see what series I have recently quit reading. I have nothing against these authors, I just didn’t like these particular series. If you guys like them, that’s great! Plenty of people do as these are popular series but they just weren’t for me! So without further ado, lets get into it!

1) Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This is one of those rare hyped series where I’ve read it and just hated everything about it. I noticed a lot of spelling mistakes and errors in the first book and it completely put me off. I hate seeing books with errors. I don’t mind the odd one or two but this one had so many. I didn’t like the plot. I thought it was very boring and whenever anything exciting happened it was conveniently solved a couple paragraphs later. I didn’t like the characters at all and I just couldn’t connect with any of them. When the second book came out I read a few reviews and they all said if they didn’t like the first book then you won’t like this one. So instead of possibly wasting my money I decided to just quit this series. I have no regrets and I donated the first book to a charity shop because I didn’t see the point in keeping it.

Continue reading

Book Series I Wish Had More Books!

Hey guys! I was scrolling through some old topics for Top 5 Wednesday when I came across this one and it seemed like a lot of fun so here we are! I love reading series and if I could I would happily read about ten books in one series from my favourite authors. I’m sure if you’ve read a lot of my posts in the past then you will easily be able to guess my choices for this post! So lets get into it!

1) Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

This is only a duology and it makes me really sad because these books were amazing. What I really liked about them was that the plot remained the focal point of the story. Both books were entirely driven by Celestine’s actions and her drive to do what’s right despite everything it could cost her. I find that this is quite rare for young adult books because the plot nearly always ends up taking a backseat to the romance at some point. With these books you know there is a romance but it’s always in the background which I liked. It meant that the books were very addicting because there was constantly nail-biting scenes which made it hard to put down. I would have loved for them to be a trilogy because I think there was plenty of room to expand on the story. Or if not a third book then possibly a spin-off about Carrick’s life because he’s such a mysterious character. We learn a lot about him in the second book but I need more. These books were absolutely brilliant and I would recommend them to anyone who likes dystopian!

Continue reading

Book Unhaul! (#2)

Hey guys! I’m bringing you another unhaul post as I’ve recently been organising my bookcase into read books and unread books. It should hopefully help me keep track of my TBR and whilst I was sorting through my books I came across quite a few I wasn’t so keen about keeping. Some I either started but couldn’t finish and others I finished but didn’t like them so have decided to donate them to a charity shop! Hopefully you won’t be offended by my choices!

Rebel of the Sands1) Rebel of the Sands by Alywn Hamilton

So Rebel of the Sands was a book I decided to buy because it was pretty popular and I was seeing it all over social media. I read it last year and it was definitely not for me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, I found the story confusing to follow and, most importantly, I noticed a lot of errors and mistakes. To me, personally, it felt like I was reading a first draft of a book and not a finished copy. I think it definitely could have done with some more work and it has put me off checking out any of her future books. I decided not to continue the series and I didn’t see the point of keeping a book I didn’t enjoy. So this is going to the charity shop!

 

Continue reading

July FairyLoot Unboxing!

Hey guys! I got my FairyLoot on Monday and managed to take some pictures so I can actually post my unboxing fairly quickly for once! July’s theme was Tricksters and was recommended for fans of Harry Potter, Sherlock, Harley Quinn, Loki and Six of Crows. Honestly this seemed like the perfect box for me because I adore all of those except Six of Crows but that’s because I haven’t read it yet! I really liked some of the items and the book was beautiful I’m so excited to read it! So lets get into it!

Incase you haven’t heard of them, FairyLoot is a YA fantasy monthly subscription box based in the UK. In every book you receive one recently published Young Adult fantasy book and several bookish goodies related to the book’s theme! Lets get into the unboxing, yay!

20170725_152544.jpg1) Exclusive Sherlock Enamel Tin Mug (Made by Fictiontea Designs)

The first thing I picked up was this really cute enamel tin mug with possibly everyones favourite quote/scene from the TV show. I think this is a really cute item to put in the box and I really wasn’t expecting a mug to be in it! It’s such a cute little mug and I will definitely be using this when I’m reading and escaping to my own mind palace! I love it!

 

 

 

 

 

Continue reading

Most Anticipated 2017 Releases! (#2)

Hey guys! I did this post at the start of the year for books being released between January and May. I didn’t really know what books were being released later on in the year so decided to do another post when I had more of an idea. So here we are! These are all the books coming out in the second half of 2017 that I am pretty much freaking out over! Enjoy!

Wonder Woman.jpg1) Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

So I’ve pre-ordered a paperback copy and a signed hardback copy from my lovely, lovely, lovely Waterstones. The excitement for this book is pretty much killing me and I want it in my hands right now. It’s even worse after seeing the film. I loved the film so damn much, it was amazing and awesome and they are incredible for doing such a kickass film! Thank you to them! Now hopefully we’ll get a kickass book too! This comes out 28th August just before I go on holiday so that can be one of my holiday reads, yay! This will be the first book I’ve read by Leigh Bardugo and I’ve heard nothing but good things about her writing so I’m excited!

Continue reading