BLOG TOUR: The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave

Title: The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave
Pages: 320
Published by: Viper
Publication date: 4th May 2021
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

IT WAS THE LAST THING HE TOLD ME: PROTECT HER

Before Owen Michaels disappears, he manages to smuggle a note to his new wife, Hannah: protect her. Hannah knows exactly who Owen needs her to protect – his sixteen-year-old daughter, Bailey, who lost her mother tragically as a child. And who wants absolutely nothing to do with her new stepmother.

As her increasingly desperate calls to Owen go unanswered, his boss is arrested for fraud and the police start questioning her, Hannah realises that her husband isn’t who he said he was. And that Bailey might hold the key to discovering Owen’s true identity, and why he disappeared. Together they set out to discover the truth. But as they start putting together the pieces of Owen’s past, they soon realise that their lives will never be the same again…

A beautiful and thrilling mystery, perfect for readers of Lianne Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

My review:

The Last Thing He Told Me has a compelling mystery that will have you hooked from the first page and each chapter will leave you wanting more. It’s definitely a book you’ll want to devour in one sitting.

The story is told mainly in the present tense from Hannah’s point of view, however, there are chapters set in the past that are interlaced throughout and tell the story of how Owen and Hannah met, and how they fell in love. Both are of equal interest and having chapters set in the past interlaced throughout definitely complemented the present day chapters. I appreciated that it didn’t detract from Owen’s disappearance, rather, it explores Hannah and Owen’s relationship as it gives you the opportunity to get to know them and to see how happily married they were. You can definitely sympathise with Hannah’s current situation and her confusion over Owen’s sudden disappearance since they were very much in love. She’s effectively been left to look after Bailey by herself with no idea what has happened to her husband, and if and when he’s returning. I admired her resilience because instead of giving up she immediately starts to unravel the mystery and piece together who Owen really is, which involves coaxing his daughter, Bailey, to remember times they spent together when she was a child. I thought Hannah was fantastic with Bailey; even though she knows how Bailey feels towards her, she’s remains patient with her and always gives her the choice whether or not do something.

Bailey, who is sixteen years old, lost her mother when she was very young and all she’s known since is her life with her father. Of course it’s easy to see why she wants nothing to do with Hannah and them being suddenly thrown together when Owen disappears is definitely one of the most interesting parts of the story as they have to work together. I became utterly transfixed by their relationship and it was beautiful to see it blossom throughout as Bailey slowly begins to realise she can trust Hannah. Bailey’s character was incredibly well-written; she really seemed to leap off the page. You could feel her hurt and frustration pouring out of the pages. Together, as they set out to uncover Owen’s past, they become closer to one another and it was so heartwarming seeing Hannah help her process her dad’s disappearance. While Owen’s disappearance is the central mystery and an intriguing one, the relationship between Hannah and Bailey shines throughout. The ending was so bittersweet and while it wasn’t the one I was hoping for, it was a satisfying conclusion to this story.

If you’re looking for an compelling thriller, I highly recommend The Last Thing He Told Me. It has a superb mystery and an addictive plot that will leave you wanting more with every page you turn.

A huge thank you to Viper for sending me a copy of this book for review and for inviting me to take part in the blog tour! Make sure to check out everyone else taking part in this tour.

Author the Author:

Laura Dave is the national and international bestselling author of Eight Hundred Grapes and other novels. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times; O, Oprah Magazine; Ladies’ Home Journal; Glamour; Redbook; Self; and the New York Observer. She resides with her family in Santa Monica.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s