Huge book haul!

Hey guys! Today I am bringing you a massive book haul. My last one was in June, but since then I have already acquired a big stack of books and I am so excited to share them with you! So, let’s get into it:

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, A Darker Shade of Magic and A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab: I am kicking it off with three Schwab books! Her most recent book, Addie LaRue, while not my favourite of hers, it was still really great and I enjoyed the story. I bought the signed Waterstones edition and it has gold sprayed edges! I love it! Next, I bought the Illumicrate edition of A Darker Shade of Magic and it is beautiful. I cannot wait for the matching editions to be released. The final Schwab book I bought was the UK collectors edition hardcover, so that I could display the stunning dust jackets that were also from Illumicrate.

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer: I’ve spoken about this a few times but Midnight Sun was my most anticipated book of the year, as I’m sure is the case for most people. Even now, I still can’t believe this book is finally published and I don’t have to wonder about it any longer. I don’t love the cover but the story was beautiful. Not as good as Twilight though!

Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust: I must admit I don’t read as much YA as I used to but this book was really just calling to me. I was hooked straight away from the tag line, “Sometimes the princess is the monster”, that just grabbed me right away and I also love the cover. I’m already getting tired of the princess trope, but I loved how different this story sounded. A princess who’s poisonous to the touch? I need that.

The Lost Book of the White by Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu: Another book I have been so, so excited about. At first I was disappointed they changed the cover, but now I prefer the new covers. They are so pretty and have such vivid colours. I love the artwork honestly, but what I would really like to see is Alec and Magnus together on the same cover. Hopefully one day that will happen.

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna: This books sounds incredible and the cover is stunning. So, so stunning. We need more covers like this. I was drawn to this book because it honestly sounds so unique compared to the usual YA literature. Also, it was recommended for fans of Black Panther and I am here for that. I hope to read it soon!

The Toll by Neal Shusterman: Remember when I said I wasn’t going to buy the full series before I’ve even read the first book? I went and broke that rule already. I haven’t read Scythe but you bet I own all three books now. In my defence, this series has gotten nothing but praise and I’m so hyped to read it now.

The Lives of Saints by Leigh Bardugo: I wasn’t sure about buying this one at first because I didn’t like the last collection of short stories and I wasn’t sure I’d like this one. I only bought it because Illumicrate went and announced this pretty edition and I couldn’t stop myself. I hope it ends up being worth it!

Lockdown by Peter May: I have been really looking forward to this one and I couldn’t wait any longer to buy a copy. This book is set in a global pandemic and London is in lockdown. Given that we are currently in the middle of a pandemic, I’m just really interested in seeing how accurate it is and if it is being handled any differently by governments.

The Devil and the Dark Water by Stuart Turton: I am so excited to have this, finally. It feels like I’ve been waiting ages for Stuart’s next book. His first book was amazing. It was one of the most intricate plots I’ve ever read and I’ve been eagerly waiting for his next release ever since, which also sounds incredible. Is there really going to be a demon involved? I can’t wait to read this! Honestly, it sounds perfect for Halloween.

The End of Her by Shari Lapena: I bought this as soon as it came out because I love Shari’s writing, she’s definitely one of my auto buy authors. I can usually read her books in one sitting – they are that gripping. I don’t usually like the characters, I mainly read her books for the mystery aspect. She writes really compelling plots and I can never guess what’s going to happen at the end. I’m looking forward to reading this!

The Vinyl Detective: Low Action by Andrew Cartmel: I actually picked this up in Waterstones! First time I had visited since March and probably the last time I’ll go this year. This is the fifth book in The Vinyl Detective series, which I love a lot. It never fails to make me laugh and I love how unique it is. I don’t really care for vinyls myself, but that isn’t going to stop me from enjoying a series about rare vinyl records.

The Executioner by Chris Carter: I’ve recently discovered another crime series, which spells disaster for my never-ending TBR. I’ve read two books in this series and I believe there’s ten books out so far, so I have a lot of catching up to do! This is the second book, which I plan on reading before I buy the third. I love this series so much already and I am really excited to read the rest. It’s such a dark series and the author really isn’t afraid to push the boundaries. I’m mad I didn’t discover these books sooner!

Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton: I have no idea what this one is about. I got it from a swap! I looked it up on Goodreads and it had really great reviews so I thought why not? Let’s go for it. I love discovering new authors!

These are all the books I have acquired recently! Unfortunately, being in lockdown has done little to curb my spending. Do you see any books you like? Feel free to leave a comment below. I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “Huge book haul!

  1. Azia says:

    What a fantastic haul! The special edition of ADSOM is beautiful as it The Lives of Saints! I’m in love with the cover of The Gilded Ones. I immediately added it to my TBR because of the cover. I’m really excited to read someday. Addie LaRue isn’t my favorite of Schwab’s either, but the book’s design is beautiful. And yes! Please read the Scythe series. One of my favorite YA series out there 😀

    • Beth says:

      I know! I can’t wait to see what the next two books are like. Maybe grey and black? 😍 Schwab’s books have the best covers. I love all the special editions she’s getting! Oh yay! I’m so glad you added The Gilded Ones! I hope you enjoy it 😁 Haha I will read it soon, I promise!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s