SPOTLIGHT: Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict

Hey guys! Today I am spotlighting Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict! I read The Other Einstein and it was absolutely fantastic! It was such an enthralling read and this one sounds equally exciting! Historical fiction is a fairly new genre for me to branch out to as I rarely read any historical books but The Other Einstein was such a phenomenal story. The writing was beautiful and so heart-wrenching at times.

I was excited when the publisher reached out to me about taking part in a blog tour for Carnegie’s Maid and I chose to spotlight it. The synopsis makes the story sound so empowering and it’s one I look forward to reading myself soon! Check out all the details below!

image004Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict
Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication date: 16 January 2018

Synopsis: 

From the author of The Other Einstein, the mesmerizing tale of what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty.z

Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She’s not the experienced Irish maid who was hired to work in one of Pittsburgh’s grandest households. She’s a poor farmer’s daughter with nowhere to go and nothing in her pockets. But the other woman with the same name has vanished, and pretending to be her just might get Clara some money to send back home.

If she can keep up the ruse, that is. Serving as a lady’s maid in the household of Andrew Carnegie requires skills she doesn’t have, answering to an icy mistress who rules her sons and her domain with an iron fist. What Clara does have is a resolve as strong as the steel Pittsburgh is becoming famous for, coupled with an uncanny understanding of business, and Andrew begins to rely on her. But Clara can’t let her guard down, not even when Andrew becomes something more than an employer. Revealing her past might ruin her future—and her family’s.

With captivating insight and heart, Carnegie’s Maid tells the story of one brilliant woman who may have spurred Andrew Carnegie’s transformation from ruthless industrialist into the world’s first true philanthropist.

Praise for Carnegie’s Maid:

“[an] excellent historical novel.” –Publishers Weekly

“Feels like Downton Abbey in the United States…Benedict demonstrates the relevance of history to the present day in this impeccably researched novel of the early immigrant experience. Deeply human, and brimming with complex, vulnerable characters, Carnegie’s Maid shows the power of ambition tempered by altruism, and the true realization of the American Dream.” -Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl

“In Carnegie’s Maid, Marie Benedict skillfully introduces us to Clara, a young woman who immigrates to American in the 1860s and unexpectedly becomes the maid to Andrew Carnegie’s mother. Clara becomes close to Andrew Carnegie and helps to make him America’s first philanthropist. Downton Abbey fans should flock to this charming tale of fateful turns and unexpected romance, and the often unsung role of women in history.” -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan’s Tale

“With its well-drawn characters, good pacing, and excellent sense of time and place, this volume should charm lovers of historicals, romance, and the Civil War period. Neither saccharine nor overly dramatized, it’s a very satisfying read.”     –Library Journal

 “…engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men’s great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan.” -Booklist

“Marie Benedict has penned a sensational novel that turns the conventional Cinderella story into an all-American triumph. Young Clara Kelley steps off the boat from Ireland into Andrew Carnegie’s affluent world, where invention can transform men and women into whatever they dare to dream.” -Sarah McCoy, New York Times and international bestselling author ofThe Mapmaker’s Children and The Baker’s Daughter

image006.jpgAbout the author: 

Marie Benedict is a lawyer with more than ten years’ experience as a litigator at two of the country’s premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston College, with a focus in history and art history, and a cum laude graduate of the Boston University School of Law. She is also the author of The Other Einstein. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family.

 

 

 

 

Buy the book:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2iZDef4
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/2BO5ENJ
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2krHG6X
IndieBound: http://bit.ly/2Ad43E2

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s