Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’ve Read Because of Booktube/Blogging/etc

Hey guys! It’s been over a month since I last did a Top 5 Wednesday post! I haven’t had time to sit down and write a detailed post in a while so it feels good to be able to take part in Top 5 Wednesday again! This weeks topic is self-explanatory. You talk about the books you’ve picked up because of the online book community! I don’t know about you guys but I’ve picked up so many books because I saw them all over Bookstagram! I’m excited to share some of them with you!

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

Spellslinger1) Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell

This book just kept popping up! I’d be scrolling through my feed or watching some book recommendation videos on YouTube and Spellslinger would pop up all the time. I think the cover drew me to this book more than anything. It just looks so freaking awesome! So of course I had to buy it and I ended up giving it five stars! I thought it was such a fantastic book and I completely fell for Kell! He was a really relatable character and I loved how cunning he was at times. He basically uses tricks to make people believe he has magic and I loved it! The second book comes out next week and I am so excited! I need it now!

 

One Of Us Is Lying2) One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

The closer it got to the publication date the more I saw this book on Bookstagram. It was just everywhere! I read the synopsis and I was like I need this book! Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. A Young Adult crime thriller???? Give it to me! It sounded amazing and it was amazing! It was such a thrilling book and it kept me hooked throughout! It was a bit slow but the characters more than made up for it! Karen McManus is definitely an author I’ll be keeping an eye out for now!

 

 
Nevernight

3) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I bought this book the day it was published. I had no idea who the author was, what the book was about or if it was even any good. Everyone was just posting pictures of the cover all over Bookstagram and it was driving me mad. I wanted this book so I grabbed my iPad, went on Waterstones and purchased a copy! Luckily I did end up really liking it! I didn’t like the start and started regretting buying it but after the first fifty pages it really picked up! It was such an awesome action-packed book with the most badass characters! Really happy I found this book through Bookstagram! I have the second book and I can’t wait to read it!

 

The raven boys

4) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I honestly didn’t think I would like this because I wasn’t a fan of Maggie’s Shiver trilogy but everyone, – and I mean everyone – was full on raving about this book! It was all over Bookstagram and Booktube! Everyone was giving it amazing reviews and saying how excited they were for the last book. So I just caved and bought it! I had to! I read it and I really enjoyed it! I can’t wait to continue the series and read the second one!

 

 

 

Shatter Me5) Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I hadn’t actually heard of this book or Tahereh Mafi before until I joined Bookstagram. This was probably the first book I bought because I was just seeing it everywhere and that cover is gorgeous! I probably bought this book just for the cover, to be honest. It’s so pretty!

 

 

 

 

 

This is only a tiny amount of the books I’ve bought because of the online book community! I have bought so many books since I started blogging and using Bookstagram! It’s actually insane! What books have you bought because of the book community? I’d love to know! Feel free to leave a comment below or share your link! I hope you guys enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’ve Read Because of Booktube/Blogging/etc

  1. kozbisa says:

    I read 3 of those, but I think I just randomly picked them up at the library. My co-blogger has been trying to get me to read Nevernight, but I am not sure if it’s for me. I like fluffy contemporaries. A book that I recently read because I kept seeing it on blogs was Dangerous Girls. It’s older, but it kept making TTT lists, so I had to see what it was all about (loved it).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      I’ve not heard of Dangerous Girls so I looked it up and now I definitely want to read it! It sounds amazing 😀 the cover is really nice too 👌 yeh Nevernight is definitely not fluffy haha it’s about assassins and anything like that is always really dark xD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

