Top 5 Wednesday: Second Book is Best

Hey guys! I was so excited to take part in this weeks topic because I have complained a lot about series that went downhill. I thought it was about time I gave some recognition to those rare second books that are actually pretty damn awesome! I’ve read my fair share of series where the second book has been incredibly boring but these series had kickass second books! I hope you enjoy!

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

scorch1) The Scorch Trials by James Dashner 

If you guys read a lot of my posts then you will know how obsessed I am with this series and James Dashner. His writing is just amazing and I’d love to be able to write such captivating stories! I adore The Maze Runner series so much, it’s actually one of my favourites! His writing is just fantastic and he completely blew me away in The Scorch Trials. This book was definitely the best in the series because it scared the hell out of me. It was so intense and spooky. It gave me chills and I actually had goosebumps reading it. When he writes about the cranks… it’s so scary! This was definitely one of the most intense books I’ve read and I bloody devoured it.

 

hollow city2) Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I really love this series but the second book made it for me! It was absolutely amazing! It’s set in 1940 so we get to see the children trying to survive in the middle of World War 2. It was so insanely good, I got so excited reading it. The amount of detail and creativity in this story blew me away. We got to see them survive bombs and air raids, it was so scary! This book was so intense and definitely the best in this trilogy. Everything was so detailed and it was such a captivating story. I found myself really caring about the characters and loving all of their peculiar powers. Everyone should read this series just to see how awesome the second book is!

 

Catching Fire3) Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games is definitely not one of my favourites and I am not a fan of it but I did really like the second book. The first one dragged quite a lot and I didn’t really get into it until over halfway through. The second one was much better and definitely more exciting. The third one unfortunately was the worst for me and it kind of ruined my excitement from the second book. This is definitely one of those rare series where the second book is better than the first and the third. I just thought a lot more happened in this book compared to the other two which were really repetitive.

 

 

Harry Potter.jpg4) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

I’m sure so many people will disagree with me on this but my favourite book in this series is definitely the Chamber of Secrets. I just loved this book so much! It was so exciting and interesting. I just really liked the ending and I thought it was quite chilling. Plus I liked how it was really short and everything was straight to the point. The other books are so massive and there’s probably a lot that could have been cut out. This is definitely the one I enjoyed most!

 

 

The Vinyl Detective5) The Vinyl Detective: The Run-Out Groove by Andrew Cartmel 

This book was so much better than the first one! Don’t get me wrong, I really liked the first one but the second one had so much more interesting stuff happening! It had a lot more suspense and mystery to it which the first one was lacking. Plus they are searching for a missing person and there’s all these unanswered questions about his disappearance. Was he taken? Is he even still alive? This book had me like who needs sleep? I need answers! It had me turning page after page desperate to find out what happens at the end. I’m just in awe how different this was to the first book. It was such a good crime thriller!

 

I would love to know if you guys agree with any of my choices and to see what your own choices were! Feel free to leave a comment below or even a link to your post! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

