July Wrap Up!

Hey guys! This was the best month for me in terms of reading because I managed to read six freaking books! This might not seem like a lot to most people but if you read my wrap ups every month then you will know I struggle to read five. But this month I read six! What happened?? I have no idea but I am so happy with myself! Check out all the books I read:

Warlock Holmes1) Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning

This was definitely the most entertaining book I read this month! It was so funny and it was such a delight to be able to laugh at a book for once. The book consists of six short stories that are really true to the originals but just spin the most ridiculous supernatural twist to them ever. Everything that happens is because of something supernatural and it was so daft it had me laughing so hard. I would recommend these if you are a fan of the originals because it was just so funny seeing them in a different light. Warlock Holmes is the most ridiculous character in the book but he’s very likeable. I didn’t like Watson as much sadly, possibly because he was the serious character and I liked the funny ones more. I decided to save the second book for next month and I can’t wait to read it!

The Lying Game2) The Lying Game by Ruth Ware

This was the first book I read by Ruth Ware and I am definitely going to read her other books now! I loved this story and I flew through the book. It was definitely an exciting page turner because every page I read left me wanting more. I loved all of the characters and I loved watching everything slowly unravel. You can feel the tension building as it gets closer to the ending and the big reveal. It was very exciting and I think Ruth Ware is a sound author. I will be reading her other books soon for sure!

 

 

Flutter3) Flutter by Olivia Evans

When I went into this book I had no idea how much it focused on mental illness and depression. I thought it was a typical crime thriller but I was left so surprised. It’s a mixture of romance, mystery and mental illness. Even though I wasn’t expecting this I still really enjoyed it! It was definitely a refreshing read for me and I loved reading from a male’s point of view for once. The pacing is quite slow but that doesn’t matter because it’s just one of those books where you live for the main characters. They were so damn cute throughout and I loved them so much! It was so heartbreaking finding out how they’d lost one another and the fight to be together again. I loved this book so much and I already want to read it again!

Emma in the Night4) Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker

This was the only book I didn’t enjoy this month which I am still quite sad about because it sounded amazing. Unfortunately the pacing was so slow and I considered not finishing it about five times. I was just so bored and all of the characters were so boring. I didn’t like any of them and this is one of the most twisted, dysfunctional families I have ever read about. Oh, there is a reason for this. One character made sure to tell us in every chapter she had. I got fed up of information being crammed down my throat every page. I just didn’t care and I was begging for something interesting to happen. But it didn’t come until probably the last 10% of the book. But by this point I didn’t care. I mean the ending was very good. It was a very good twist and I was left blown away by it but at the same time I wasn’t as excited by it as I wanted to be. It was just too late for me and I was just left very disappointed by this story.

One Of Us Is Lying5) One of Us is Lying by Karen McManus

I really loved this book! It was very addicting and it’s a book that you could easily read in one sitting. The writing was phenomenal considering it’s a debut for the author. The characters were so relatable and I loved them all so much. They are very fleshed out and you get to see who they really are beyond their typical high school stereotype. The ending was very shocking and I did not see it coming. I loved the twist but it was also quite sad as well. The ending is left open-ending and it’s left for you to decide what happens next for the characters. This book definitely lived up to the hype and I would recommend it to pretty much anyone. It was phenomenal!

 

A Stranger in the House6) A Stranger in the House by Shari Lapena

I don’t think this book was as good as her debut The Couple Next Door. I really enjoy her writing and I liked the characters but just not as much as I did in the first book. It was an interesting story and there was a lot of characters I didn’t trust with good reason. I think it was easy to guess the ending of this story but I was still left surprised by a few odd twists. Overall it was a very easy book to read and it took me about a day to read it. It could be easily read in one sitting if you had the time. Like the first book it has a very agonising open-ending. It hints that the dark times aren’t over and are just getting started but I believe it’s a standalone like the first one. That’s what makes the ending so bloody agonising because you won’t know what happens next! It’s left for you to decide.

So I am thrilled with the amount of books I managed to read and I really enjoyed them all expect one. I’m excited to see what I feel like reading next month because at the minute I have no idea! What books did you guys manage to read this month? I’d love to know! Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

14 thoughts on “July Wrap Up!

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    Such a shame you didn’t enjoy Emma in the Night! I absolutely loved it. Up until the point that I pre-ordered it so I can put it in my bookcase – and have my mom read it as well, haha.
    Still have to read One of Us is Lying but really looking forward to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. madbooklove says:

    I agree about A Stranger in the House. The Couple Next Door was better. One of Us is Lying sounds intriguing! Putting it on my TBR now.

    It feels good to have a productive reading month, doesn’t it? When my kids are out of school, my book count drops to maybe 1/4th of the usual, and it always kills me. But when I have a really good reading month, it more than makes up for it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      I think The Couple Next Door had better characters. I didn’t really care for any of the characters in A Strange in the House, especially Brigid she was so strange 😂 Yay I hope you enjoy it! 🙌 Definitely and you feel so much better knowing you’ve read a lot of books ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

