Book Unhaul! (#2)

Hey guys! I’m bringing you another unhaul post as I’ve recently been organising my bookcase into read books and unread books. It should hopefully help me keep track of my TBR and whilst I was sorting through my books I came across quite a few I wasn’t so keen about keeping. Some I either started but couldn’t finish and others I finished but didn’t like them so have decided to donate them to a charity shop! Hopefully you won’t be offended by my choices!

Rebel of the Sands1) Rebel of the Sands by Alywn Hamilton

So Rebel of the Sands was a book I decided to buy because it was pretty popular and I was seeing it all over social media. I read it last year and it was definitely not for me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, I found the story confusing to follow and, most importantly, I noticed a lot of errors and mistakes. To me, personally, it felt like I was reading a first draft of a book and not a finished copy. I think it definitely could have done with some more work and it has put me off checking out any of her future books. I decided not to continue the series and I didn’t see the point of keeping a book I didn’t enjoy. So this is going to the charity shop!

 

Dreamland2) Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson

Dreamland was definitely a cover buy. I was browsing books in Waterstones when I came across this beauty and the synopsis instantly drew me in. I was like a book about travelling through dreams? A set of rules for this???? This sounds awesome! The concept was really interesting but sadly the finished copy was not. The story was just not interesting in the slightest. The characters were very strange and quite boring. I couldn’t connect with them and didn’t really like them at all. The story was very strange and it really dragged in some places. It started getting interesting but then it ended up being really weird. It ended on a cliffhanger but I read that the book was a standalone so that confused me. Regardless, if it does become a series I won’t be continuing it and I can’t see myself re-reading this in the future. So into the charity bag it goes!

The Bell Jar3) The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I read this during my second year of university and it was a very enjoyable book. It’s about mental illness and depression which was very interesting to read about. I really enjoy Sylvia Plath’s work and I loved being able to discuss this in my classes. The reason I am donating it though is because I just don’t see myself reading it again in the future. I read it for university rather than for pleasure and even though I did enjoy it, it’s just not something I’d normally chose to read. I need the shelf space and I’m only keeping books that are my favourites or I know I will want to re-read in the future.

 

Shadow of the Wolf.jpg4) Shadow of the Wolf by Tim Hall

I tried, and tried, and tried to read this but I failed every time. This book is not for me and I am so disappointed because it sounded absolutely amazing. The synopsis pulled me right in but when I tried to read the book I didn’t get very far before I gave up. I just didn’t enjoy the story as much as I thought I would and I didn’t like any of the characters. Since I know I’m never going to finish this book it makes sense to just donate it and hope someone else likes it more than I did.

 

 

5) The Power of Five by Anthony Horowitz

I got up to the third book before calling it quits with this series. I wanted to finish it before donating it but sadly it just isn’t going to happen. I enjoy the first and second book but struggled with the third. Luckily I got these books really cheap so it doesn’t bother me that I couldn’t finish all of them and I hope a young kid picks them up! Anthony Horowitz is a great writer but I’m just too old for this series! I need to free up some shelf space!

So these are the books I unhauled this time round! I might have some more in the future as I try and squish my TBR down, we’ll see! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “Book Unhaul! (#2)

  1. Caila says:

    I don’t have any of these books but I do have Traitor to the Throne the sequel to Rebel of the Sands that was sent to me by a friend. It’s unfortunante because the first book didn’t interest me very much. I love unhauling books because that means your making room for new books.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Aw no that’s a shame! I thought about buying it but I saw a lot of people saying if you didn’t like the first one you won’t like the second. At least we can say we tried it 🙂 Haha, indeed! I need to make room for all the ones coming out in September xD

      Like

  2. madbooklove says:

    Unhauling is a great practice, one that I’m terrible at, I’m afraid. But I find that I can let go of a handful occasionally, and I rarely have any regrets. A real gutting I couldn’t do.

    I have Rebel in my collection but haven’t gotten to it yet. The Bell Jar is one of my favorite books, and I’ve reread it several times. But I get it’s not for everyone. What is a book you could never part with? Are there any that you have multiple copies of?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Yeh I’ve never been able to get rid of more than 10 at a time it just hurts too much 😂 I could never part with The Book Thief that’s one of my favourite books and I have two copies. One is the paperback and the other the tenth anniversary edition hardback 😍 I think the most copies I have of one book is three and that’s Lady Midnight & Lord of Shadows 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

