July FairyLoot Unboxing!

Hey guys! I got my FairyLoot on Monday and managed to take some pictures so I can actually post my unboxing fairly quickly for once! July’s theme was Tricksters and was recommended for fans of Harry Potter, Sherlock, Harley Quinn, Loki and Six of Crows. Honestly this seemed like the perfect box for me because I adore all of those except Six of Crows but that’s because I haven’t read it yet! I really liked some of the items and the book was beautiful I’m so excited to read it! So lets get into it!

Incase you haven’t heard of them, FairyLoot is a YA fantasy monthly subscription box based in the UK. In every book you receive one recently published Young Adult fantasy book and several bookish goodies related to the book’s theme! Lets get into the unboxing, yay!

20170725_152544.jpg1) Exclusive Sherlock Enamel Tin Mug (Made by Fictiontea Designs)

The first thing I picked up was this really cute enamel tin mug with possibly everyones favourite quote/scene from the TV show. I think this is a really cute item to put in the box and I really wasn’t expecting a mug to be in it! It’s such a cute little mug and I will definitely be using this when I’m reading and escaping to my own mind palace! I love it!

 

 

 

 

 

20170725_152613.jpg2) Fortune Telling Kitchen Glove (FairyLoot)

I think this is the most random item you can receive in a subscription box! I was honestly so baffled when I picked it out the box. I was thinking what the hell is this? And then I realised it was a bloody Oven Glove! This was brought to us exclusively by Fairyloot which is super cute but I honestly don’t think I will use this… It’s inspired by the book of the month because it has fortune and palm reading. As lovely as the design is, I’m not too bothered about this item. Like it is really lovely and the design is gorgeous but I’m just not going to use it.

 

 

 

20170725_152829.jpg3) Hogwarts Playing Cards (Officially Licensed Harry Potter Merchandise)

These cards are a really nice idea since tricksters love having a deck of cards to trick people with! I think they go really well with the box and it’s so awesome putting in such a lovely merchandise set instead of a random pack. I really like them but the only thing is I don’t really play with cards that much… I only use them when I go on holiday so these will probably just sit in a draw most of the time. I really like the tin they came in, it’s much better than a cardboard box that falls apart. It will be easy to keep them in good condition and the cards themselves are very pretty. It will be nice playing games with these cards! Thanks for including them, FairyLoot!

 

 

20170725_152659.jpg4) Exclusive Loki Lotion (Made by Geeky Clean)

Sadly I was a little disappointed with this item. I love Loki so much and I was so excited to see what awesome item we would get! When I saw it was just body lotion and not something we could keep, I’m not going to lie I was disappointed. I was baffled by the scent because according to the spoiler card it’s dragon’s blood? I’m not sure why they think Loki would smell like dragon’s blood? Doesn’t seem like the right scent to me but I love everything Geeky Clean has made in the past, so I’m sure I will love this too! Plus it’s vegan and cruelty free which makes me super happy!

 

 

 

20170725_153048.jpg5) Exclusive Harley Quinn Print (Made by Miss Phi)

Yet another item I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed in. Harley Quinn is another favourite of mine and as much as I loved this print I wish it included a drawing of her on the other side or something similar. This print is absolutely gorgeous and I love the quote but I was expecting something better.

 

 

 

 

 

6) Terrible Truths Watercolour Bookmark (Made by Lexy Olivia)

I bloody love this item! This is probably my next favourite after the book, it’s just so beautiful! The quote says “better terrible truths than kind lies” and it’s a quote from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! I haven’t read that duology yet but it’s on my list! I love this bookmark so much! That feather is so gorgeous and the detail is stunning! It’s so pretty! Also, it’s a really sturdy bookmark which I like! I hate flimsy ones that bend really easily so I will definitely be using this in the future!

20170725_153116.jpg7) Bonus item: Behind The Pages Discount Coupon

This was the bonus item and to be honest, I can’t see myself using this. If you want to use this and get 15% off your order, use the code: FAIRYLOOT. I think you can create your own soap and have your ship name engraved on it? It seems kind of silly to me but I can see why others would like this. I tried having a look on the website but none of the links even work so I have no idea how much any of the products are to begin with.

 

 

 

 

 

8) Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

Finally, the book! I was absolutely blown away by this book! Just look at that cover! It is absolutely beautiful and I actually let out a little scream when I pulled it out of the bag. The purple colour is so gorgeous and I love how the title has smoke drifting upwards as if it was on fire! This book is so, so, so pretty and I am just in awe! The carnival at the bottom of the cover is so pretty and the quote as well! This cover is killing me. I can’t get enough of this book already and I haven’t even read it yet! According to the spoiler card it’s an irresistible dark fantasy that is a blend of magic, murder and mayhem. It’s set in a travelling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires. It has magical illusions, jinxes, fortune telling and many more exciting elements! It came with a letter from the author and a signed bookplate!

My overall thoughts for this book was that it could have been a lot better than it was. I loved the trickster theme but felt the items let it down slightly. It’s not my favourite box that’s for sure but I am still happy I ordered it because the book has completely destroyed me and some of the items were really cute! Did any of you guys order this box? What did you think? I hope you guys enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

 

 

7 thoughts on “July FairyLoot Unboxing!

  1. Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

    It’s always a happy day when FairyLoot has arrived, haha!

    I’m a huge baker, so I’m definitely going to use that oven glove – especially since my old ones are just getting ready to be thrown out really.
    I really really loved those Harry Potter-cards! Those immediately went on my HP-shelf and I’m going to slap anyone who tries using them. They’re to look at, damn it, haha. [okay, not really but if anyone ever ruins even one I’m going to go nuts.]

    Definitely looking forward to Daughter of the Burning City! When I was looking up new releases a month back, I immediately figured out this book was going to be in this month’s box, but I didn’t mind. I wanted to read it anyway, haha.

    Too bad you didn’t enjoy this box as much as I did!
    Fingers crosses next month’s is better. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Wow bet you loved the oven glove then haha that’s awesome 😄 Can’t stop laughing picturing you slapping someone’s hand away 😂 I did that with Roar in the June box so decided to keep it a surprise this month and I’m so glad I did! Literally the cover took my breath away, it’s so pretty 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kathy @ Books & Munches says:

        Totally get it! I’m not looking up any new releases for the time being – except those for 2018 but by that time I’ll have forgotten about it anyway so yay for no self-inflicted spoilers haha. 😅
        It is! Can’t wait to start reading 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

