Top 5 Books of 2017 (So far!)

Hey guys! Since we are over halfway through the year, I thought it was time I did a post talking about my five favourite books I’ve read so far this year. Currently I have read 26/50 books and according to Goodreads I am on track! I am super happy with the number of books I’ve read so far and I’m doing better than last year! There are so many books I’ve loved reading and it’s so hard narrowing down my favourites but it has to be done. So lets get into it, shall we?

If We Were Villains1) If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio

This has got to be one of the best crime thrillers I’ve ever read. It had a very dark and twisted story. The story relies heavily on Shakespeare and the themes he uses in his plays. It has a lot of jealously and rivalry between certain characters and each character has their own stereotype: villain, hero, tyrant and temptress. Being totally honest with you, I’m not a fan of Shakespeare and don’t really enjoy reading his plays. So it made me hesitant to read this but because I’m a sucker for crime thrillers I decided to read it. You guys… it was amazing. It blew me away. The story goes from strength to strength and I became so attached to the characters. I was left reeling when I found out which friend turned up dead and the writing was phenomenal. I felt like I was standing there staring down at the dead body… it was insane. M.L. Rio is an amazing writer and I look forward to reading more from her!

Ensnared2) Ensnared by Rita Stradling

This is a futuristic retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I bloody loved it. Definitely one of the best books I’ve read in 2017 and I will definitely be reading it again. I completely fell in love with the characters and I was captivated by the story. It was one of the best page turners and it was a struggle to put this book down. I was really rooting for the characters to have a happy ending and was eager to see that happen so I flew through the book. Loved it!

 

 

 

Nevernight3) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I think Nevernight was one of the most surprising books I’ve read this year. The start definitely wasn’t what I imagined it would be and I almost ended up not finishing this book because I found the layout incredibly frustrating. It has footnotes and there’s a star at the end of certain words and a paragraph at the bottom going into more detail. If you don’t read them you probably won’t understand the reference but I didn’t care because after fifty pages I stopped reading the footnotes. I didn’t like the footnotes because it like I was reading an essay. As soon as I stopped reading the footnotes I enjoyed the story a lot more. The characters were so badass and Mia was an amazing character. She has this awesome like power or trick, I guess? Not really sure how to describe it but it all comes flooding out of her towards the end and she is so, so, so amazingly badass. I loved her and I can’t wait to continue her story in the second book!

Follow Me Down4) Follow Me Down by Sherri Smith

Talking about this book again is giving me so many happy feelings right now. I think it will definitely make my end of year list because this book was so bloody intense. It was suspenseful, thrilling and exciting. It spun me in so many different directions when I was trying to guess the killer and then when it’s all finally revealed, I was honestly left reeling. It was one of the most jaw-dropping moments because I did not see it coming. At all. Everything that happened in this book surprised me and shocked me. It was one of the best crime thrillers and can we just take a moment to appreciate how beautiful that cover is? It’s so eye-catching and so perfect.

 

perfect5) Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

I loved this book! It’s the second book in the Perfect duology and after waiting over a year for it, I was screaming with excitement to read it! Cecelia Ahern did not disappoint with this book and it was the perfect ending to this series. It was a really exciting read and it honestly had me on the edge of my seat the majority of the time. There’s lots of thrilling and exciting scenes that made my eyes widen and my heart pound. I couldn’t relax until I knew the characters were safe again. I just became so attached to them and it was such a satisfying ending seeing them all happy again. I really hope she writes more young adult books!

 

So these are my top 5 books of 2017 and I’m very happy with these choices! All of them got my heart racing and made me feel so bloody scared and excited at the same time! I love when authors can do that! Have you got any favourite books of 2017 so far? I’d love to know! Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Books of 2017 (So far!)

Leave a Reply

