Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

Hey guys! I’m back with another Top 5 Wednesday post! This week we are talking about children’s books and I’m excited to share with you some of my favourite children’s books! I read all of these when I was little and I loved them! So lets get into it!

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

1) Private Peaceful & War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

I probably read Michael Morpurgo’s books when I was eleven or twelve and they are so, so, so incredibly sad. They are great for introducing children into the horrors of the war, War Horse especially. It’s told from the point of view of a horse who sees the best and worst of humanity but also has an incredibly powerful friendship with his owner. It’s very sad and it did make me cry but it’s worth it because it’s a really touching story. I liked how it shed some light on the millions of horses who died in the war and how they were also impacted by the horrors of the war. Private Peaceful is another truly sad story but it’s very powerful and compelling. It gripped me from start to finish and I really impacted me. They are two very captivating stories and they make great children’s books despite the tragic horrors of the war that is at the core of the story.

2) Alex Rider Series by Anthony Horowitz

So there was ten books in this series but just this year he published an eleventh story. I’m not sure if I will read this because I finished the Alex Rider books a long time ago and I don’t know if I’d be able to get back into it again. I think I’m too old for them now which is sad but I would happily recommend them to younger readers because they are great action books. Plus they are about a fourteen year old spy which is awesome! I really enjoyed them when I was a kid and they got me into Young Adult books so win, win!

3) His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman 

These books are amazing and are definitely the perfect books for children! They are so captivating and they are a mixture of fantasy and action. I loved these so much and it was so easy to get sucked into this world. I’m so excited for The Book of Dust to come out and it’s the perfect time to read these books if you have been interested in checking them out!

4) Jacqueline Wilson’s books

If you go out and buy your child every single book by Jacqueline Wilson then they are set for life because she has published so many and each one of them has a very powerful and emotional story. They deal with the every day problems some children go through with their families e.g. Parents getting divorced, being bullied in school, moving house and money problems. They have very relatable characters and stories and I really loved reading her books when I was little. Some of my favourites are Dustbin Baby, Vicky Angel and Lola Rose. It was very sad when I realised I was at that point when I was too old to read her books but I’m very thankful I had them to read.

5) Cathy Cassidy books

Some more great children’s books that I absolutely loved! They are very similar to Jacqueline Wilson’s books and anyone who loves her books is bound to love Cathy Cassidy’s. Seriously when I wasn’t reading Jacqueline Wilson’s books I was usually reading Cathy Cassidy’s. Both amazing authors and definitely two of the best children’s authors.

I think these are awesome books for children to read! They are very engrossing stories and personally made me love reading books even more! What are some of your favourite children’s books? Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

Leave a Reply

