Top 5 Wednesday: Books Without Romance

Hey guys! Wow… I haven’t done a Top 5 Wednesday post since April! I just wasn’t interested in any of the topics but I finally found a decent month! I saw this topic and was like hell yes! I love reading books with very little romance or none at all and I immediately knew what my choices would be! I’m so excited to share them with you so lets get into it!

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

1) Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

So this is a dystopian duology and what I really liked about it is that the romance in this story takes a backseat and the focal point of the story remains the plot. What I find in a lot of young adult books is the plot ends up taking a backseat and the romance starts to take over. But these books never once waver from Celestine and her drive to do what is right despite everything it could cost her. I will write a brief summary for these books so you can get a taste of the story. The characters in this story live in a perfect world with a set of strict rules to follow and if you break any of these rules you are branded as Flawed. You have an ‘F’ brand on your body and have to wear a band on your arm so everyone can see you are Flawed. When the main character is found to be Flawed she is set on a path that will completely change her life and open her eyes to the society she lives in. Highly recommend them, they were a brilliant read and there was little romance in the story!

2) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I doubt I need to summarise these books for you since they are so well known and incredibly popular! James Dashner completely kills it with these books, they are so awesome! There is no romance in these books and the focal point is working out what the hell is going on, fighting for their lives and most importantly, destroying W.I.C.K.E.D. I almost died so many times reading these books because they were that insane. I could go on and on about these books if someone asked me to. One of my favourite series! Read these books!

3) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

These books were awesome! They are great books to read if you are a fan of paranormal and fantasy. There is very little romance in them and the focus is more on Jacob wanting to find answers to all the stories his grandfather told him growing up. He was told magical stories of peculiar children with supernatural strengths but he believed them to be just that – stories. But when he travels to the orphanage to seek answers he finds out that they were real and may still be alive. Highly, highly, highly recommend!

4) The Mortality Doctrine by James Dashner

I will admit I am struggling a bit now so I’m going to throw in another series by James Dasher and that is The Mortality Doctrine. I like how his books have very little interest in romance and are more focused on writing awesome detailed plots that both excite me and bloody annoy me. If you have read his books then you know that he loves to give his books open-endings. His endings aren’t restricted or limited to one ending and have numerous possible endings that I suppose you can decide for yourself depending on how you want it to end. That is what infuriated me about the ending of The Game of Lives. This was such an amazing conclusion to the trilogy but that ending… What did I ever do to you, James? Why you hurt me like that? Just give me a nice concrete ending, please! If you want books without romance then James Dashner has got you covered.

5) David Raker Missing Persons by Tim Weaver 

You can’t give me a topic like this and not expect me to mention a crime thriller! It’s very rare for me to read a crime thriller involving romance because normally they are all about solving murders. I’m sure if you read my book often then you will know I love Tim Weaver’s books! I gush about them and recommend them a lot just because they are some of the most intense crime thriller books I have ever read! The third book especially, ooh, that ending! It killed me. I love these books!

I am so excited to be taking part in Top 5 Wednesday again! I have missed these posts and definitely felt their absence on my blog! Every Wednesday I have wanted to take part but I couldn’t think of anything for each topic. Well hopefully I will be taking part in every topic this month because they all look great! Do you like reading books without romance or are you a fan of it? Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

