REVIEW: Normandy Gold #1 by Megan Abbott and Alison Gaylin

Normandy GoldTitle: Normandy Gold #1 by Megan Abbott and Alison Gaylin
Pages: 33
Published by: Titan Comics
Publication date: 14th June 2017
Genre: Thrillers & Mystery
Format: eBook
Amazon UK

Synopsis:

Sex, violence and corruption collide in NORMANDY GOLD, a gritty thriller set in 1970s Washington D.C..

When her younger sister is found murdered in a D.C. hotel, relentless Sheriff Normandy Gold dives headfirst into the seedy world of prostitution and politics, soon discovering a twisted conspiracy that could lead right to the White House.

My review:

This was kindly sent to me by Titan Comics in exchange for an honest review!

So I was surprised to find that this is actually a crime thriller comic which can I just say, is AWESOME! As you all know by now, I am a huge fan of crime thriller books but I haven’t read any comics and didn’t really know there was any, so when I saw this had been sent to me by Titan Comics I was very excited to read it! Admittedly, the only comics I read are either Marvel ones or The Walking Dead. After reading Normandy Gold #1 I am curious to see what other crime thriller comics are like!

“They were going to call me Victory.”

This will be a short review since it was only thirty three pages long and I can’t really say a lot about the first one in the story. I loved the main character, she seems very badass and independent. She is a freaking Sheriff after all! She starts by introducing her back story and talking about her past. It was interesting learning about her and being able to gauge her personality. I think she is going to be a very complex and interesting character, she has a very detailed backstory and I’m interested to find out more about that over the coming volumes. I love her name too it just seems so unique and deadly! She is not someone to be underestimated!

The plot was good, it gave you an idea of what was to come in the future volumes and it left a lot of questions unanswered so it did a good job of enticing you to read the second volume to get an idea of the full story. The graphics were amazing. They were very detailed and a lot of attention went into them. I read it on my iPad and was very impressed!

Like I said, this is a very short review because I can’t really say a lot about it just yet but it was a good first volume and did a great job of setting up the story, introducing the main character, etc. I am definitely interested in reading volume two! Titan Comics kindly provided me with excerpt images to use in my post so definitely check that out below!

Normandy Gold 1Normandy GoldNormandy Gold 2Normandy_Gold_1_Page 3

Leave a Reply

