July Wrap Up!

Hey guys! This was the best month for me in terms of reading because I managed to read six freaking books! This might not seem like a lot to most people but if you read my wrap ups every month then you will know I struggle to read five. But this month I read six! What happened?? I have no idea but I am so happy with myself! Check out all the books I read:

Warlock Holmes1) Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning

This was definitely the most entertaining book I read this month! It was so funny and it was such a delight to be able to laugh at a book for once. The book consists of six short stories that are really true to the originals but just spin the most ridiculous supernatural twist to them ever. Everything that happens is because of something supernatural and it was so daft it had me laughing so hard. I would recommend these if you are a fan of the originals because it was just so funny seeing them in a different light. Warlock Holmes is the most ridiculous character in the book but he’s very likeable. I didn’t like Watson as much sadly, possibly because he was the serious character and I liked the funny ones more. I decided to save the second book for next month and I can’t wait to read it!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book Unhaul! (#2)

Hey guys! I’m bringing you another unhaul post as I’ve recently been organising my bookcase into read books and unread books. It should hopefully help me keep track of my TBR and whilst I was sorting through my books I came across quite a few I wasn’t so keen about keeping. Some I either started but couldn’t finish and others I finished but didn’t like them so have decided to donate them to a charity shop! Hopefully you won’t be offended by my choices!

Rebel of the Sands1) Rebel of the Sands by Alywn Hamilton

So Rebel of the Sands was a book I decided to buy because it was pretty popular and I was seeing it all over social media. I read it last year and it was definitely not for me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, I found the story confusing to follow and, most importantly, I noticed a lot of errors and mistakes. To me, personally, it felt like I was reading a first draft of a book and not a finished copy. I think it definitely could have done with some more work and it has put me off checking out any of her future books. I decided not to continue the series and I didn’t see the point of keeping a book I didn’t enjoy. So this is going to the charity shop!

 

Continue reading

July FairyLoot Unboxing!

Hey guys! I got my FairyLoot on Monday and managed to take some pictures so I can actually post my unboxing fairly quickly for once! July’s theme was Tricksters and was recommended for fans of Harry Potter, Sherlock, Harley Quinn, Loki and Six of Crows. Honestly this seemed like the perfect box for me because I adore all of those except Six of Crows but that’s because I haven’t read it yet! I really liked some of the items and the book was beautiful I’m so excited to read it! So lets get into it!

Incase you haven’t heard of them, FairyLoot is a YA fantasy monthly subscription box based in the UK. In every book you receive one recently published Young Adult fantasy book and several bookish goodies related to the book’s theme! Lets get into the unboxing, yay!

20170725_152544.jpg1) Exclusive Sherlock Enamel Tin Mug (Made by Fictiontea Designs)

The first thing I picked up was this really cute enamel tin mug with possibly everyones favourite quote/scene from the TV show. I think this is a really cute item to put in the box and I really wasn’t expecting a mug to be in it! It’s such a cute little mug and I will definitely be using this when I’m reading and escaping to my own mind palace! I love it!

 

 

 

 

 

Continue reading

July Book Haul!

Hey guys! It’s that time of the month again where I tell you about the books I bought this month! I’m quite pleased with the amount of books I’ve bought and I’m really excited to read them because they are all new releases! I actually saved quite a bit of money on them too because one was in clearance and the other two were buy one get one half price! So let’s get into it!

One Of Us Is Lying.jpg1) One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus

I have been wanting to read this book ever since I first saw it on NetGalley. For some reason I didn’t request it I think I had too many other books to read at the time? So I’ve been impatiently waiting for it to be released in paperback and it looks so pretty! It has red sprayed edges and it looks so gorgeous against the white and red cover. I’m definitely going to be reading this soon, it sounds amazing. All I know is that five students go into detention but only four leave alive. It’s the perfect thriller! I never knew I needed this book in my life until now. I really hope it doesn’t disappoint because I am so excited to read it finally!

 

Continue reading

REVIEW: Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning (Warlock Holmes #1)

Warlock HolmesTitle: Warlock Holmes: A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning
Pages: 368
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 27th May 2016
Genre: Crime Thriller
Format: Paperback
Amazon UKWaterstones

Synopsis: 

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius who uses the gift of deduction and reason to solve the most vexing of crimes. Warlock Holmes, however, is not. He may be a font of arcane power, but frankly he couldn’t deduce his way out of a paper bag. The only things he’s got going for him are the might of a thousand demons, the spirit of Moriarty trapped in his head, and his stalwart companion Dr. John Watson, who is always there to guide him through the treacherous shoals of Victorian propriety… and save him from a gruesome death every now and again.

Continue reading

Most Anticipated 2017 Releases! (#2)

Hey guys! I did this post at the start of the year for books being released between January and May. I didn’t really know what books were being released later on in the year so decided to do another post when I had more of an idea. So here we are! These are all the books coming out in the second half of 2017 that I am pretty much freaking out over! Enjoy!

Wonder Woman.jpg1) Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

So I’ve pre-ordered a paperback copy and a signed hardback copy from my lovely, lovely, lovely Waterstones. The excitement for this book is pretty much killing me and I want it in my hands right now. It’s even worse after seeing the film. I loved the film so damn much, it was amazing and awesome and they are incredible for doing such a kickass film! Thank you to them! Now hopefully we’ll get a kickass book too! This comes out 28th August just before I go on holiday so that can be one of my holiday reads, yay! This will be the first book I’ve read by Leigh Bardugo and I’ve heard nothing but good things about her writing so I’m excited!

Continue reading

WWW Wednesday!

Hey guys! I’ve not done a WWW Wednesday post in a while so I thought I’d give you all a quick update on what I’ve been reading recently and what reviews to expect from me in the future! Hope you enjoy!

As always, WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

www

To take part, all you have to do is answer the following questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Emma in the NightCurrently reading: 

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker: I received an ARC of this via NetGalley and I’m currently only 20% in so far. It’s very interesting but also quite strange. I like it but I’m not quite sure what’s going on at the minute. The synopsis made the book sound really good so hopefully the more I read the better it will get.

Continue reading