Book Unhaul!

Hey guys! I’ve recently had a clear out of some of my books and they are just books I couldn’t finish, series I couldn’t get into/finish and just books from university that I have no interest in keeping! I thought it’d be interesting to share some of them with you just because I like watching/reading other people’s unhauls! So lets get into it!

1) Angel by L.A. Weatherly & City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I believe this is a trilogy and the synopsis sounded really interesting. My friend read the first book and recommended it to me because she thought I’d enjoy it. Sad to say I couldn’t really get into it. I wasn’t a fan of the writing, I didn’t really find it that engaging. I didn’t get very far in before I decided it wasn’t worth reading. I held on to it though for so long, like five years before finally deciding to just donate it to charity. I wanted to try and pick it up again but the way books are flying out recently I’m just not interested in this trilogy and have other books I want to read now. I’m just donating the movie cover of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare because I don’t really need it and it’s pretty much fallen apart because they make them dead cheap. If you are wondering why I have the movie cover it’s because it was about £4 in Asda and this was my first time reading it. I like the other covers so much better.

2) Wool trilogy by Hugh Howey

Again this is another trilogy that had a really interesting synopsis. I was just pulled me in straight away only to be let down when I actually started reading the books. I finished the first one but it was disappointing, to be honest. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, the writing didn’t really grip me and at times I found myself quite bored. I struggled through half of the second book before picking up another book I’d been gravitating towards. I held onto this trilogy in the hopes of finishing it but it just doesn’t interest me so and I don’t think I will ever pick them up again so into the charity bag they go!

3) Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir & The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I am purely donating these three because I have two copies and I honestly don’t need two copies. I originally purchased Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch in paperback and the other two in hardback so then I decided to buy Snow Like Ashes in hardback so that I’d have a matching set. I purchased An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir in hardback because it looked beautiful and it had two maps inside! Plus I have A Torch Against the Night in hardback as well! I took The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater on holiday and it pretty much got destroyed the cover is like completely bent in half. I have no idea how this happened so I bought a brand new copy to keep my set nice. I’ll donate the other one and hopefully someone who doesn’t mind damaged books can pick it up pretty cheap!

4) Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson & The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini 

I really, really, really couldn’t get into Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson. I think this was when I started getting into crime thrillers and this one just wasn’t great. It bored me more than it interested me and I just couldn’t finish it. I am so disappointed to include The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini in my unhaul because I really wanted to love this book but I just didn’t. I didn’t like the characters, I didn’t like the story and the writing didn’t engage me at all. I loved his other two books A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Mountains Echoed. I cried like a baby when I read them. The stories were so beautiful and so sad. Unfortunately I just didn’t feel the same way with The Kite Runner. My friend told me to give it another go but I can’t. I’m sorry but I can’t.

5) Dracula Bram Stoker & The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

These are a couple of books I had to read for university and I’m so sad to say I’m donating them because I don’t like them. I only got halfway through before giving on both of them because it was a struggle to even read one page. I was so excited to read these as well because I had been wanting to read them prior to university but never got around to it. Hopefully someone else can enjoy them!

I actually unhauled quite a lot of books and I’m pretty sure I will be unhauling some more soon! Have you unhauled any books recently? Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “Book Unhaul!

  1. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Oh I love book unhauls! I definitely need to unhaul some of my own books because there’s so many that I’ll never get to! I own the City of Bones movie cover because my mum bought it for me! And then I checked out the rest of the series from the library so I’ll be keeping my movie edition (even if I normally don’t like those)! This was so fun to read ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Haha same I love seeing what people are getting rid of 😂 Yeh there are some I DNF’ed but wanted to keep so I could try and finish them but I realised that was never gonna happen so off they went! I shouldn’t waste my time trying to like them when there are so many other books I’d love to read xD Movie editions have really nice covers but they just get trashed dead easily and it’s so frustrating 😦 I wish they made them more durable

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

