Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag!

Hey guys! I have seen quite a few people doing this tag recently and thought I’d join in! It’s the perfect tag to do because we are halfway through the year already which is insane! Like how is it June already? Madness. This tag looked like a lot of fun and I am excited to do it! I hope you enjoy!

Original creators: ReadLikeWildfire & Earl Grey Books

If We Were Villains

1) Best book you’ve read so far in 2017 

You all know how much I loved this book! It exceeded all of my expectations and stomped out any doubts I had over the Shakespearian parts! I don’t like Shakespeare but for this book I loved it! Amazing, amazing, amazing!

perfect

2) Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017

I actually haven’t that read many sequels this year but from the ones I have read I definitely enjoyed Perfect by Cecelia Ahern the most! It just exceeded all of my expectations and showed what an incredibly talented writer Cecelia Ahern is! I really hope she writes more Young Adult books because I really loved this story!

Lord of Shadows

3) New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

I pre-ordered this and have been waiting over a year for it and I still haven’t read it yet! I am so ashamed of myself. But it is on my TBR for this month and I am determined to get to it! I just want to open it up and shove my face in the pages! I am going to devour it.

Warcross

4) Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

I have been eyeing up Warcross by Marie Lu but unfortunately it isn’t out until September! I am super jealous of everyone who has gotten an ARC of it but it does mean I have been hearing nothing but great things about this book! I haven’t read any books by Marie Lu yet but I am really excited for this book because that cover is amazing and the story sounds awesome!

the-chemist

5) Biggest disappointment

Alas, it wasn’t meant to be. The Chemist by Stephanie Meyer let me down. It sounded like the perfect crime thriller but it was a huge disappointment. The characters were terrible and the plot was non-existent most of the time. It ended up taking a big seat to the romance for the majority of the book which I wasn’t impressed by. I would not recommend this to be honest.

The raven boys
6) Biggest surprise

I was so surprised by this book! If you’ve read Maggie’s The Wolves of Mercy Falls series then you most likely thought it was terrible. Reading that did not give me high hopes for this book and I purely read it for the hype it was getting. If it didn’t get the hype it did then I would have avoided this book because of how much I disliked Shiver, Linger and Forever. But I actually ended up enjoying this book and I really loved the characters! It has a really interesting and captivating story. Maggie’s writing has vastly improved since Shiver and I am very impressed. I would recommend this series to everyone.

Follow Me Down
7) Favourite new author (Debut or new to you)

For this I had to pick Sherri Smith and her crime thriller Follow Me Down. This book was just so shocking and explosive. I didn’t predict one single twist that happened and I was so conflicted throughout. I wanted to trust the main character but she was just painted as being unreliable. It was impossible to know who to trust and the ending left me dumbstruck. I am so excited to see what she will write next!

a-darker-shade-of-magic

8) Newest fictional crush

I completely and utterly fell in love with Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. He is just such a phenomenal character. It’s impossible to hate him. How could you hate such a caring person? It was easy to become attached to Kell and root for him throughout. He’s such a wonderful character. I love him.

falling-kingdoms
9) Newest favourite character

Is it bad if I say Magnus from Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes??? He’s painted as one of the bad guys but he is just so fascinating! I think he is really just misunderstood and he has a bully for a father which doesn’t help. I am so curious to see him develop throughout the series and he is definitely one of my new favourites.

the book thief
10) Book that made you cry

I don’t think a single book made me cry this year… I definitely don’t remember crying over any recently. So I don’t really have an answer for this one. I’ll just go with my favourite book that has made me cry because I cried a river over this book. The ending just… ugh, why?

falling-kingdoms

11) Book that made you happy

I think I will go with Falling Kingdoms again because I read a lot of negative reviews about this book but it actually exceeded my expectations and I was thrilled to find out that I really enjoyed it. I was pretty happy with the writing and the world building. It was easy to follow and there was a lot of twists I wasn’t expecting. A lot of characters die and that’s only the first book so I’m preparing myself for even more as the series continues! I have the second book on my shelf ready to read, just need to find time to read it now!

12) Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year 

I don’t think I have seen any film adaptations this year?? I don’t remember seeing any… So I will go with my favourite adaptation overall which is The Maze Runner by James Dashner. I am a huge fan of the books and I love the films just as much as well. They did a great adaptation and the characters were cast really well. If Dylan didn’t have his accident then The Death Cure would have been out this year but waiting another year for it is worth it for Dylan to get better.

Nevernight
13) Favourite review you’ve written this year

This was a hard one but in the end I decided to go with Nevernight by Jay Kristoff because I enjoyed breaking it down and writing about how frustrating I found it to be but then how bloody action-packed it was towards the end. This book confused me, it annoyed me, it crushed me but it also excited me and left me reeling. There’s no denying that Jay Kristoff is one talented author and for that reason I have decided to carry on with this series and read the second book, Godsgrave. I am already excited for it to come out!

Lord of Shadows
14) Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

It has to be Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare because how freaking beautiful is this book?! Cassie gets the most beautiful book covers, I swear. What I love about the Waterstones edition is that it has blue sprayed edges and it makes the book even more beautiful! I picked it up from Waterstones and just held it in my hands marvelling at the colours. Seriously this book is so pretty and the SPINE!!!!! Wow! I am completely in love with this book.

15) What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I can’t even tell you all how many books I have to read so instead I will just pick out my number one priory series that I NEED to finish by the end of the year because books four, five and six are coming out in March 2018! As you can see that is the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi as I have only read book one and Warner’s perspective! Please can you just ask me every month if I’ve started them yet and shout at me if I say no? Thank you.

So there we have it! If you want to do this tag, feel free! It is a lot of fun and I really had to think about some of my answers. I’m loving doing book tags at the minute and have a couple more in mind that I want to do at some point. I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag!

    • Beth says:

      I just saw the cover for Warcross and was like I need this!!!!!! Then I read the synopsis and thought woooow I definitely need this! 😂 September better come fast! Yay! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! YES, PLEASE DO! 😂 I plan to read Unravel Me next month so if isn’t on my wrap up shout at me!!! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

