May Wrap Up!

Hey guys! I read five books this month and I am incredibly happy with that! I have loved every single book I’ve read! Some of the books I read were very random and spontaneous. I read a couple books on my TBR but then I also read some books I wasn’t planning on reading.

If We Were Villains1) If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio

I really loved this book! It was such a dark and twisted story. I knew from the synopsis that a character died and right from the start I was trying to read the characters thinking is it you? Are you the one who dies? When I reached that part of the book, I was so freaking shocked! I would never have predicted that, I actually thought quite the opposite. It was such a great twist and it was really interesting how the other characters reacted to that characters death. It’s funny because they are all actors so they can hide their true emotions behind a mask since they are used to doing that anyway. Such a great idea for a story. I can’t wait to post my full review this month! I just need to get all my thoughts and feelings down!

 

Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith2) Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume 

I was sent this by the author in exchange for an honest review and I actually really liked it. It was quite a captivating story and I really hope there is a second book soon because I would love to find out more about this world and continue having adventures with the characters. Ewan, Mathilde and Enid were awesome and very likeable characters. It will be interesting to see what happens next for them as they enter their second year at Firedrake. I also hope the White Wraith’s are explored more because I definitely want to see more of them. It was an enjoyable story and I would definitely recommend it for fantasy lovers like myself.

 

Thirteen Reasons Why3) Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Normally I read the book before I watch the film/TV show but I wasn’t really interested in the book because I hadn’t heard great things about it. I really loved the TV show it was so addicting and really nail-biting at times. I only read the book because it was on NetGalley and whilst I did enjoy it, I actually really preferred the show. I thought the book lacked emotion and you only really saw how Hannah’s suicide affected Clay. With the show you saw how it affected all the other people on the tape, the parents and the school. We got to see how the school came under fire for not recognising the signs. Plus Clay was pretty much have a breakdown listening to the tapes which was missing in the book. I thought he wasn’t reacting emotionally enough in the book because at times he barely responded to what she was saying. So I definitely think the show did it better.

 

Raven's Gate4) Raven’s Gate by Anthony Horowitz

All of a sudden I just decided I wanted to read The Power of Five Series by Anthony Horowitz. I devoured the first book in a day but took my time reading the second one. It’s a good series but I feel I’m too old for it. Maybe if I read it around the time I read the Alex Rider books I’d love it more. It just felt a little slow and I didn’t really click with any of the characters. Definitely a book more for younger readers or those wanting to progress from children’s books to young adult. I would definitely recommend Anthony Horowitz to younger readers because he is a really talented writer.

 

Evil Star

5) Evil Star by Anthony Horowitz

This is the second one and it was better than the first one. There was more action and little twists I wasn’t expecting. It felt like the story was definitely picking up speed as new characters were introduced and there were betrayals from old ones. I liked the story a lot more and connected more with the characters. I am interested to see where the story is going but so far I’m not really getting into the third book. I might try and read it in one sitting on my day off.

 

 

 

So these are the five books I read this month! I’m happy with what I’ve read and hopefully I can read the same amount next month! I already know what I’m reading for June and can’t wait to share them with you all! I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

3 thoughts on “May Wrap Up!

    • Beth says:

      Hey! Ahhh you really need to read it! It was fantastic and definitely a new favourite of mine! I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not since I’m not really a fan of Shakespeare but I couldn’t pass it up because it sounded really interesting! Glad I read it since I actually ended up loving it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

