ARC REVIEW: The Vinyl Detective: The Run-Out Groove by Andrew Cartmel (The Vinyl Detective #2)

The Vinyl DetectiveTitle: The Vinyl Detective: The Run-Out Groove by Andrew Cartmel
Pages: 398
Published by: Titan Books
Publication date: 9th May 2017
Genre: Thrillers & Mystery
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis: 

His first adventure consisted of the search for a rare record; his second the search for a lost child. Specifically the child of Valerian, lead singer of a great rock band of the 1960s, who hanged herself in mysterious circumstances after the boy’s abduction.

Along the way, the Vinyl Detective finds himself marked for death, at the wrong end of a shotgun, and unknowingly dosed with LSD as a prelude to being burned alive. And then there’s the grave robbing…

My review: 

A huge thank you to Titan Books for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

So I actually loved this book a lot more than the first one. I personally think that it had a better story and it was more suited to a crime thriller than the first one was. It has a lot more suspense and mystery which is what I personally look for in crime thrillers.

In the first book they spend a lot of their time going in and out of charity shops searching for this rare and elusive record. I mentioned in my review for the first one that it became quite tedious at times and felt like there was no real plot. But this one has improved massively and has a real, solid plot! It’s more mysterious as there are so many unanswered questions and loose ends that need to be tied. The Vinyl Detective goes from searching for rare records to searching for a missing person. It’s vastly different to what he is more comfortably familiar with but it was a lot more interesting! It involved a bit of record hunting too though but that didn’t take nearly as long to find as it did in the first one. They mainly spend their time trying to solve the mystery of Valerian’s missing child which turns out to be quite dangerous as they are uncovering secrets some people wish to stay secrets! I thought this book was a lot more action packed too as a lot of the time I was sitting on the edge of my seat unable to put the book down.

I briefly mentioned in another post the ending of the last book and if it would carry over into this one. The answer is no but fortunately he explains why in this book and I felt a lot happier seeing that sorted! I was wondering why there was no mention of the ending of the last book but it all gets explained later on and it wasn’t completely forgotten about which is good!

What I liked about this book is that there is so much mystery surrounding this singer and her suicide! Was it really a suicide? Plus no one knows what happened to her child, he just disappeared and THIS to me is a crime thriller! Where did he go?? Was he taken? Is he even still alive? So many unanswered questions!!!!!! I was greedily awaiting the answers to them throughout! And then there is the mystery of what happened to her sister! It was widely known that her sister had a mental breakdown and spent the rest of her days living in a hospital until she died. Did she know the fate of the little boy? I was turning page after page eating up every single word I read! I needed ANSWERS!

When we finally got the answers my mind was completely blown! At the end two things are revealed. The first one I was expecting because there was a lot of foreshadowing for it throughout and I was able to put two and two together. So I wasn’t too surprised by that one but it was still really interesting watching it all unfold! Now the second reveal, woah! That blew my mind! I honestly had no idea that was coming even before the build up when it was all being explained and laid out in front of me. It was like a jigsaw puzzle that was finally getting the last few pieces. There was foreshadowing for this too but I honestly didn’t realise until AFTER I’d read the book. What a plot twist that was! It went right over my head so I liked that I was surprised by the second reveal.

Another thing I liked is that Tinkler was more involved in this one. He went on more adventures with them and helped them when he could. I really like Tinkler he’s such a funny character. I liked that you got to see more of his friendship with the main character and Nevada. We are also introduced to a couple new characters and they are the ones who approach the Vinyl Detective and Nevada about solving the mystery of Valerian’s missing child. I really liked these characters even though one of them was kind of an asshole. But for some reason I am drawn to the mean characters so I enjoyed his snarky behaviour.

One thing that really irked me about this book was Nevada and her role in it. In the first one she was this strange mysterious woman who could really kick some ass. She was such a badass and the main character just sat back and let her do all the work a lot of the time. However, in this one I was majorly disappointed to find out that she has just become a housewife. She pretty much just makes tea, feeds the cats and washes the dishes. That’s it. Then when they go out she just goes clothes shopping in charity shops. I was left wondering what the hell happened to this woman and why the author would do something like that. Sometimes she uses her brain and you remember that she is actually pretty smart but that’s not very often. She puts on her charm a lot and talks people into doing stuff which is good but I think it’s more because she is described as beautiful and people are in awe of her looks. I think she only had one badass scene in the whole book and that was when she fired a bow and arrow at someone and hit them. That was amazing and definitely more like the Nevada I love! I wanted to see her kick some ass more and show off her amazing skills but it didn’t really happen. Hopefully in the next book she will step up her game a bit more. I don’t know. We shall see.

Overall I am pretty happy that I was sent this series because I have thoroughly enjoyed it! I think blogging really introduces you to books you probably wouldn’t think to read or even notice in a bookshop. Without this blog, I probably wouldn’t have read this series and that makes me sad. So a massive thank you to Titan Books for sending this series to me and I eagerly await the third book! I’d really recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of crime thrillers because it offers such a refreshing story to the typical crime thriller books out there!

Leave a Reply

