Popular YA Books I Dislike!

Hey guys! I have been really wanting to do this post for a while and I finally got around to it! I hope you enjoy and please do not be offended by any of my choices! It’s just my personal opinion and these are really popular books, so even though I don’t like them, a lot of other people do!

thg1) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I remember my friend recommended this trilogy to me because she really liked it and thought it was something I’d like too. Sadly I really didn’t like this book. I thought the first book was incredibly boring and I didn’t like any of the characters. They didn’t really stand out to me and over the course of the three books they just got so irritating! Katniss was so bad in the last book she just cried all the time and it really annoyed me. I really wanted Katniss and Gale to end up together because I just couldn’t see what was so great about Peeta. I don’t think the ending of the trilogy was that great and I just can’t see why everyone loved these books so much. The films were also terrible.

 

Rebel of the Sands2) Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This was another book that I bought because it was really hyped up and I kept seeing it everywhere. Everyone loves the cover but I don’t see what’s so great about it. I was just like meh when I saw it. I think it could have been a good book if it was edited more and went through a couple more re-writes. The writing was really bad and there was so many spelling mistakes and errors. I really wasn’t impressed that this book had been published because it felt like I was reading a rough draft. It was really slow as well not a lot was happening and it was really hard to follow because it constantly kept changing from past tense to present. I will not be continuing this series just because I had so many issues with this one and I don’t think I’d like the second book since I didn’t like any of the characters, either.

A Court of Mist and Fury3) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

If you have read some of my previous posts then you might know that I had to DNF this book just because I really couldn’t get into it. I read 200 pages and I didn’t enjoy a single page. Not even one. It’s a shame because I really loved ACOTAR so I have no idea why I didn’t like this one?? I don’t think I enjoyed her writing as much and I didn’t like the direction the story was going in. I think I will try and read it again before the next book comes out. And if I still don’t like it after that then I will just have to accept that this is going to be a DNF series.

 

 

vampire-academy4) Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

If you guys read my posts a lot then you will know that I really cannot stand Vampire Academy! It was one of the worst series I have ever read, sorry not sorry. I did not like any of the characters, I hated the writing and overall I was just not impressed with the story. My friend lent me the entire series because she thought I’d enjoy it since I liked Twilight and The Vampire Diaries. But for some reason I just did not enjoy a single book in this series. At all. She said she would lend me the Boodlines series as well but I thought there is probably little to no chance of me enjoying that series if I didn’t like Vampire Academy. I also hate the covers, they are awful. They need to change them.

 

Paper Towns5) Paper Towns by John Green

I think John Green’s books are either going to be something you love or something you hate. And I hated them all apart from The Fault in Our Stars. I was so excited to read Paper Towns because someone told me it was their favourite one and I was like you liked it more than The Fault in Our Stars?! So I rushed out to buy it and it was one of the worst books I have ever read! Well, actually, I think I hated Will Grayson, Will Grayson even more but that hasn’t been made into a film. I hated the characters, I hated the story and I hated the writing. It made me so angry reading this book. So, so angry. I don’t even know how I managed to finish it but I was so disgusted with myself. Why did I waste my time reading this?? I don’t even have this book anymore. I gathered up all his books and gave them to a charity shop as soon as I read them all. I really don’t understand why his books are so popular but it’s fine because I won’t be reading any of them ever again.

Shiver6) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

This book was awful, awful, awful. So many people recommended it to me and because I am completely fascinated by wolves I immediately wanted to read this. Sad to say, it bored me to bloody tears. Where was the plot? I read all three books and I couldn’t tell you what they were about or what happened in them because literally nothing happens. My friend lent me them and after I was discussing them with her, I asked her to tell me everything that happens and she struggled to think of one thing. I don’t even know how Maggie managed to write 300 pages and not include a single plot in it. I hated all of the characters with a passion. I did not like one single character in this book. Not a single one. They were so boring and definitely the weirdest teenagers I’ve read about. I am amazed this was published and this is what put me off reading The Raven Boys. How can she write this rubbish and then go on to write a surprisingly decent book? It makes no sense. I think the romance dominated this book but because the romance was so awful, it made the book awful.

So… I hope you guys enjoyed this post and don’t hate me too much for my choices! I’m curious to see if you guys agree or disagree with my choices so feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you did enjoy this post and thank you so much for reading!

18 thoughts on “Popular YA Books I Dislike!

  1. toomuchofabooknerd says:

    Now that I’m thinking about it, I agree with you on Shiver! I’ve only read the first book and I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads but I think I was just being generous. I honestly don’t even remember a single thing that happens in the book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Wow that is pretty generous! I scrolled through some reviews and they were all one star 🙈 But you must have liked it at the time to give it that review 🙂 Haha neither do I! It’s one of those books that has loads of writing but no actual plot 🙈 I just remember I didn’t like the characters because they were the weirdest teenagers I’ve read about! They didn’t even act like teenagers

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RedheadedBooklover says:

    Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jasmine says:

    A Court of Mist and Fury… I see what you are saying.. I’m reading it now, at the beginning and I’m wondering why all those 5 stars… maybe it’s just for Rhysand but I don’t know when he will appears hehe Did you read it through or DNF?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      I think it is for Rhysand because that’s all I ever see anyone talking about 😂 You might end up liking it because I haven’t seen anyone else say they don’t like it! It must just be me haha xD I DNF at 200 pages I read quite a lot of scenes with Rhysand but I just didn’t enjoy them enough to continue 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mtwilsonhasablog says:

    So often popular YA books aren’t all they are hyped up to be. Out of this list I’ve only read The Hunger Games which I love (we’ll agree to disagree 😉 ). I have avoided Shiver and Paper Towns because I didn’t think I’d like them. I have Vampire Academy on my kindle because it was on offer, but I’m not expecting to love that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      True! Haha wise choice Paper Towns was bloody awful xD Have you read any of his other books? I thought I’d really like Vampire Academy but I read it when I was like 19. Maybe if I read it when I was younger I might have felt differently about it but oh well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

