REVIEW: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #1)

The raven boysTitle: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Pages: 419
Published by: Scholastic
Publication date: 19th September 2012
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis: 

Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.

My review:

I was really hesitant to read this because I didn’t really like Maggie’s Shiver trilogy but this series has been hyped up a ridiculous amount that I finally just decided to pick it up and give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised because I did really enjoy it and I read it in no time at all. I pretty much flew through it, it was so easy to read. I was drawn into Blue’s world and the world of the Raven Boys. It was definitely a really interesting story and I have already started the next book so I’ll definitely be continuing with this series!

In terms of the plot though, I thought this book was quite slow and that not a lot was happening but the world building and the story itself was enough to keep me interested and turning pages. The first book was slow because it really needed to set this world up and explain everything to the reader. We needed all the characters introducing to us and Gansey’s quest, etc. With that being said, the world building was phenomenal, she did an amazing job with that! It definitely makes up for the pacing being really slow but now the world building is done, I really hope the second book is more fast paced!

I really liked Blue’s character and I loved her family! She is from a family of psychics but she herself has no psychic powers, she just makes energy more powerful and makes everything louder for other psychics. If someone wants their future told, just by being in the room, Blue’s presence makes it easier and quicker for them to do the reading. I don’t think I have read a book before with a family of psychics so I really liked this and it made the book so fascinating. I love how at the start she hates the Raven Boys but as she gets to know them she actually finds that she can be friends with them. I love when they are all together and I was so curious to see how they all interacted with one another and I was not disappointed. I am so excited to see more of them in the second book and if their friendship with each other has changed at all. Like if Blue’s friendship with them has only gotten stronger. I also want to see more of Blue’s power because she doesn’t think it is a power but it kind of hints throughout the book that is, so I am interested to see if it develops at all throughout the series.

The story is told from multiple characters such as Blue, Gansey and Barrington Whelk, to name a few. I loved Blue and Gansey’s chapters but I didn’t really care at all for Whelk’s chapters. In my opinion he was a really boring character and I wasn’t impressed with him at all. He is kind of important to the story but not really in my opinion. I wouldn’t have minded if he was completely wiped from the story, he was just irritating and boring. It just felt like he had no personality, he just spends his time sticking his nose in other people’s business and moaning about how awful his life is. I was relieved he didn’t have a lot of chapters and when he did they were only a page or two long.

Gansey was a super interesting character! He has so many different sides to him and I love how you can see that through different chapters. When Blue first meets him she creates a very negative opinion of him almost immediately but then when you actually read his chapters you find that he isn’t that person at all, at least not intentionally. He doesn’t mean to come across the way that he does and he tries really hard not to which I loved about him. He realises he annoys people or hurts their feelings and he tries to stop himself from doing that in the future. He really cares about the people closest to him but the way he acts might not always show that. So we get to see so many different sides to just one character. I think a lot of the time he is really misunderstood and he gets hurt quite easily. I just want to hug him and protect him! He is super passionate about finding Glendower, a lost King who is buried somewhere hidden from everyone and whoever wakes him is granted a favour. That’s all I will say because it’s explained in the book but it’s a really long story, if you Google it, it will probably come up somewhere. It was really awesome seeing them all come together and support Gansey! They are such an awesome group of friends.

Another really interesting character was Ronan! He is so fascinating, I want more of him! He comes across as being a really tough character but the way he cares for that baby raven, it was too cute. He gets like super angry a lot but he is always there for his friends and comes to their aid when they need him. I loved, loved, loved at the end when he rushed to defend Adam. That was insane! I couldn’t stop myself from grinning and cheering him on. I think we will see a lot more of Ronan in the second book because the ending of this was left on such a jaw dropping cliffhanger! I am so eager to find out what it all means!

I really liked Adam but towards the end of the book he did become a bit annoying. Like his friends just want to help him and see that he is safe but he gets really angry with them. I can sort of see where he is coming from but seriously Gansey just wanted to help him. What was wrong with that? I don’t know I just didn’t like how Adam was acting.

I am so shocked with what happened to Noah! Where did that even come from? I saw all the foreshadowings but it was really confusing so I didn’t understand what it meant BUT IT FINALLY CLICKED! No spoilers just incase but that was so confusing and so weird! It shook me up!

I would definitely recommend this book just because it’s the perfect fantasy book! It is filled to the brim with psychics and magical quests to find lost kings! Each character is unique in their own way and I am so excited to learn more about them! I love them all so much already! If like me, you weren’t a fan of her previous books, I would definitely just dive right in with this because you might just end up loving it!

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (The Raven Cycle #1)

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    There needs to be a rule not to read Shiver first because that’s exactly what held me back from reading The Raven Boys, too. The Noah shocket might just be one of the most most shocking twists I’ve ever read in a YA novel!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Yes!! If anyone ever asks me which to read first I will definitely tell them to avoid Shiver because that trilogy was so bad 🙈 Omg I know!!!! I don’t think I’ve ever been so shocked and confused and upset! It literally came outta nowhere would never have guessed that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

