Book Covers: UK vs US (#2)

Hey guys! I did a post on this a while back which you can find here! Recently I have been really wanting to do another because I have noticed a lot of books with two different covers for the US and the UK.

One of the things I find increasingly frustrating in the UK is that a lot of newly released books tend to come out in paperback straightaway and they aren’t made very well, either. A lot of them are quite flimsy so I then have to go out of my way to purchase the hardback copy. Thankfully we have places like Book Depository to get all those beautiful US hardbacks!

For this post the UK covers will be on the left and the US covers will be on the right!

1) A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Even though these covers aren’t that drastically different I still had problems with the UK cover compared to the US one. I was expecting the colour of the cover to be purple so was surprised to see this turquoise colour. I saw the UK cover and immediately felt disappointed because the colour literally looks like something you’d use on Microsoft Paint. It looks really boring and dull. The US cover looks absolutely gorgeous in comparison! I love how it looks darker because I think this book will be quite dark in terms of the story and I love how it also has smoke curling around her and drifting upwards. It just looks so much better than the UK cover even though it only has small differences. I think the UK one shows the dress off more because it seems brighter and it looks more detailed but I’m definitely going with the US cover for this.

2) Caraval by Stephanie Garber

For this one I completely fell in love with the UK cover, it’s just so gorgeous! I think the spine is absolutely beautiful and I love how it is half black and half white. The gold writing on the cover and the stars is mesmerising. Plus I love how there are four different designs under the dust jacket, each more beautiful than the last. I purchased a copy from Amazon and received the dress. I would have preferred the clock but the dress is pretty too! I think the US cover is nice too but I think they were a lot more creative with the UK one and it was definitely love at first sight for me!

3) Heartless by Marissa Meyer

The majority of people must agree with me when I say the UK cover pales in comparison to that beautiful US cover! I love how dark it is and all the thorns circling around the title. It looks absolutely beautiful and it just calls at you to read it. I have seen pictures of the dust jacket too and that is a black and red checkerboard. It looks amazing! In comparison, the UK cover looks so boring and childish. I saw it in Waterstones and I was not impressed. The writing looks ridiculously tiny as well. I hate books with tiny writing, it gives me a headache trying to read it. I haven’t bought this but if I did I would definitely buy the hardback on Book Depository. I am so in love with the US cover, it is definitely a stunning and eye-catching cover.

4) A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This one was a hard choice because both covers are very pretty but I have to go with the UK cover. Don’t judge me but I just really love it! The colours all go really well together and represent each London in the book! Plus on the bottom of the cover it has the three circles white, red and grey which again represents each London. I thought that was quite clever after I finished reading it. I think the US cover really fits the story but I find the UK one to be more eye-catching. I really did fall in love with this cover when I saw it on Instagram and the spine is really nice too. One thing that bothers me about the UK cover though is that the back cover is littered with reviews. It is annoying because it means the synopsis is very vague and doesn’t tell you a lot about the story. Personally I don’t care for reviews on books and they won’t persuade me to read it. I’ll only read it if it looks interesting or because it has a beautiful cover.

5) Perfect by Cecelia Ahern

In the first post I did I compared the UK and US covers for Flawed which is the first book in Cecelia Ahern’s duology. I thought the UK cover was infinitely better than the US one and it had a lot more thought and care go into it. Again, comparing the covers for the second book, I definitely think they have put a lot more care and detail into creating the cover for Perfect. The US cover just looks so boring and ugly. I honestly look at that cover and think, did they even bother or just think of the first thing that popped into their head? It might sound harsh but when you look at how beautiful the UK one is and how much detail it has, it shocks me to see the US one!

6) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This is 100%, without a doubt, going to be the UK cover! Look at that stunning creation! It’s absolutely beautiful and actually why I picked this book up in the first place. It was a definite cover buy I just fell in love with it and immediately went out and bought it. I had to have it on my shelf. It’s one of the most beautiful covers I have ever seen, I love it! I’m so excited to see what the cover for the second book will be like. I hope it is as beautiful as this one. Plus under the dust jacket it has the crow in flight from the cover and it looks bloody gorgeous. I can’t deal with how beautiful this book is! The US cover looks really creepy but not in a good way… I guess it fits the story well but it makes my skin crawl.

I had a lot of fun writing this and I’d love to know if you agree or disagree with my choices? Feel free to leave a comment below! I hope you guys enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading!

2 thoughts on “Book Covers: UK vs US (#2)

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    I love seeing the comparisons between the two countries’ covers, so I always get excited to see these posts. I think you are a 100% spot on with the ACOWAR cover. I get they might have wanted a bit more of a minimalist cover like they did with the rest of them, but they should have added at least one more thing like the smoke or the mountains to give it a little something. So weird. And I’m with you on the Caraval cover. Wonderful post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      So glad you enjoyed it! 😀 I liked the first two covers for ACOTAR but I don’t know if it’s the colour of this one or what it just looks so boring. Hopefully it’s just the picture making it look like that and in real life it will look amazing! Yeh the mountains in the US one definitely make the cover look way more appealing 🙂 The UK cover for Caraval is AMAZING! Definitely a cover buy haha I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

