Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

Hey guys! It’s been a couple weeks since I have done a Top 5 Wednesday post! Sorry about that but I didn’t find the last couple topics that interesting. But I saw this one and I knew straight away that I had to do it! I have so many books I have felt deeply betrayed by because of the endings! I’m sure a lot of you will agree with me on these choices.

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

tdc1) The Death Cure by James Dashner

The ending of The Death Cure completely destroyed me. I’m still not over that ending it has left me emotionally scarred, I swear. I had to watch my favourite character have his brain eaten away by the Flare and then beg his best friend to shoot him so he wouldn’t end up like the cranks. James, why would you do something like that?! Why? Why? Why???? When I closed this book I felt so betrayed and on the verge of an emotional breakdown. The death of this fictional character hit me real hard! If I ever meet James I will beg him to re-write this book so that character lives! I just cannot accept his death even though I read this book a few years ago. It still hurts. I loved him so much! Why did he have to die??

Library of Souls2) Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

I honestly felt so betrayed by this book. It was the last in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children trilogy so obviously I was expecting this book to be absolutely amazing and mind-blowing but it was so bloody boring. It was sending me to sleep! It took me weeks to read this and it was such a struggle. Once I put it down I really didn’t want to pick it back up again but I forced myself to because it was the last book and I really wanted to find out how this story ended. The first two books were amazing and I loved every second of them, so I can’t understand why the third one was so horrible in comparison. The last 100 pages were insanely good but I don’t understand why the rest of the book couldn’t have been as good as the last part. So disappointing and I felt very betrayed by it.

the-game-of-lives3) The Game of Lives by James Dashner

James Dashner loves torturing his fans! This was another trilogy and it was brilliantly done. It was fast paced, exciting and thrilling. James proved again why he is one of my favourite authors. I love his writing! But I felt so betrayed by the end of this book because it wasn’t a concrete ending! I find that the endings of his books are very sneaky because it’s like everything is resolved but at the same time we still have unanswered questions! I thought the ending of this book was really open-ended because it wasn’t limited to one ending. It had numerous possibilities and really left the reader to decide how they wanted it to end. It kind of makes me think it was left that way so he could re-visit it if he wanted to in the future. I guess this makes it a good ending but I still felt betrayed by it and hopefully if you have read this trilogy you will understand why.

the-chemist4) The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer

I felt so bloody betrayed by this book! I loved Stephenie’s previous books so I was really excited for this one. I was expecting it to be some epic thriller that just makes you turn page after page but it was actually really boring. I thought the story had potential but it just didn’t deliver, unfortunately. The characters were so dull and the plot was all over the place. I don’t even know how I managed to finish it but I did! Won’t be reading it again though. Definitely not. I applaud her for trying something new but this could have done with some more work.

 

 

tales-from-the-shadowhunter-academy4) Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman

When I finished this book I honestly felt like I had been stabbed in the back. It was a really fun and exciting book… until I got to the end. The end broke me. It broke me. I felt so betrayed by Cassie, why would she do something like that? Make me fall in love with a character and then cruelly take him from me. I hated it. So damn much. It hit me so hard because I really didn’t see it coming. At all. It kind of brought down the whole book for me. I was so disappointed with the ending.

 

 

I realised when I was writing this post just how many books I have felt betrayed by… It was so hard narrowing it down to five. But I think these are the ones I felt most betrayed by just because my beloved characters die at the end and the authors completely shattered my world. The struggle of being a bookworm, it’s real. What are the books you felt betrayed by? Feel free to leave a link to your post below. I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you so much for reading it!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. Azia says:

    I agree with you so much on that character’s death. He was my FAVORITE and I was so mad when that happened. It almost felt unnecessary to me! But if Dashner was trying to pull out the feels, he sure succeeded. And I haven’t read the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, but your description has piqued my interest! I definitely got to pick it up to see what this ending was haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      It completely ripped my heart out 😭😭 I still can’t read The Fever Code because of it 😥 Omg you NEED to read Shadowhunter Academy! It was so good but yeh… hated the ending! 😥 Did not see it coming at all

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

