BLOG TOUR: Ragdoll by Daniel Cole (Detective Williams Fawkes #1)

ragdollTitle: Ragdoll by Daniel Cole
Pages: 384
Published by: Trapeze
Publication date: 23rd February 2017
Genre: Thrillers & Mystery
Format: eBook
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?

ragdoll-blog-tour-final

This is my second blog tour and I am super happy to be able to take part in this tour to promote this amazing book! I absolutely loved Ragdoll and I can’t wait for it to be published! A huge thank you to Orion Publishing for inviting me to join! Make sure to check out the other bloggers taking part in the image above!

My review:

Thank you to NetGalley for a free digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest view.

I absolutely loved this book! I loved the whole idea of the killer releasing a list of six names and the dates he intended to murder them. It added a really interesting twist and made the book super gripping because you were counting down the pages, waiting for the battle to save the next victim! I had this book on my phone and whenever I got the chance I pulled my phone out and continued from where I had left of. I’d be reading it on the bus on the way to work, reading it before I started work, reading it during my break at work and reading it on my way home from work. It was a really gripping story and I was pulled in right from the start. I would highly recommend it if you enjoy crime thrillers!

The story starts four years earlier with the trial and verdict of Naguib Khalid. After being found innocent of the murder charges, Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes violent attacks him in the courtroom and is confined to a secure unit for his own safety. Four years later a body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet and is nicknamed by the press as the ‘Ragdoll’. Recently reinstated Wolf and his former partner, Detective Emily Baxter, are brought together to find the killer. The killer sends a list of names to the media and the dates on which he intends to murder them. Can Wolf and Baxter find the killer before he claims the lives of his victims?

The start was a little bit confusing and it took me a bit to work out what was happening before I realised it was set in the past and was setting the story up ready for Fawkes to be reinstated and assigned the biggest, most shocking case yet. Once I got past the beginning, I became more hooked on the story and I was reading it very intently, searching for clues and following everything the detectives were noticing. It was different to other crime thrillers I have read because they usually involve one private investigator or it’s from one of the victim’s points of view. This one, however, involved a whole team of detectives working tirelessly to find the killer and I found them all to be very likeable and relatable in their own way. Outside of work, they all have personal problems to deal with as well and you get to see two very different sides to their lives. One is the public life they live in the media and the other is the private side they don’t let anyone else see. I love how close they all were as well and how they well they all worked together. I don’t think there was one character in this book I didn’t like which is impressive because there is always at least one character I hate. I don’t want to go into too much detail about the characters because it will give a lot of spoilers away but I loved all of them and I am excited to see what happens next for them! This book is the first in a series but I’m not sure how many books will be in it yet.

Ragdoll has multiple perspectives which was good because I liked comparing how each of them were coping with the ragdoll killer and if it was affecting them mentally, physically and emotionally. Fawkes was my absolute favourite character and I loved reading from his perspective. I was disappointed when we switched to another character’s point of view and I was happy to go back to Fawkes. He was such a fascinating character to me and I was drawn to him right from the start. I’m excited to see what happens next for his character and what he will do after that shocking ending!

One thing I didn’t like about this book was the media and the journalists. They are constantly criticising Fawkes when it comes to saving the victims and when he has a victim on lockdown, the media then broadcasts to the world where Fakes is hiding the victim! Gee, you did a great job there! You might as well point a flashing sign next to the building saying “The victim is hiding in here! Come and kill him/her!” I just don’t think that part of the book was realistic and I doubt the media would then try and get that person killed? It just didn’t make sense to me and was the only off-putting thing about this book. I doubt the police would be so careless about someone they are trying to protect! It also extremely irritated me when the media were putting a countdown clock on their screen and creating so much unnecessary drama! This was the part of the book I found to be irritating and unrealistic.

I love how as we get further into the book everything starts falling into place. You can see the bits and pieces slowly begin to unravel and then all the pieces begin falling into place. It was so interesting watching all of them come together and slowly put the pieces together. The ending had a good twist and I hadn’t realised it was part of a series. I am definitely eager to continue this series because I have become so attached to Fawkes. I am so eager to see what happens next because the ending was a bit intense and I have no idea what will happen now. Considering this is a debut, I was seriously impressed with the writing and the plot. It kept me wanting more and I couldn’t stop turning page after page. I was always disappointed when I had to put my phone away and start work. The first thing I did on my break was reach for my phone and immediately pick up where I had left of. If you enjoy reading thrillers and murder mystery books then I would definitely recommend this! It is full of interesting twists and it’s such a unique story.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and definitely check out this book if you think it sounds interesting, I would definitely recommend it!

About the Author

daniel-cole

At 33 years old, Daniel Cole has worked as a paramedic, an RSPCA officer and most recently for the RNLI, driven by an intrinsic need to save people or perhaps just a guilty conscience about the number of characters he kills off in his writing.

Daniel currently lives in sunny Bournemouth and can usually be found down the beach when he ought to be writing book two instead.

Twitter: @Daniel_P_Cole #RagdollBook

Pre-order: Amazon UK Waterstones

One thought on “BLOG TOUR: Ragdoll by Daniel Cole (Detective Williams Fawkes #1)

Leave a Reply

