WWW Wednesday!

Hey guys! Feels like it’s been ages since I did one of these posts! Can’t wait to get back into it because these posts are always fun and keep me updated on my reading!

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. It’s a really quick, easy and fun post to do!

www

To take part, all you have to do is answer the following questions:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading:

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff: I am two hundred pages into Nevernight and it is not what I expected at all! Sure I am enjoying it but it is a lot different than what I am used to! This is my first book by Jay Kristoff and I was a little thrown by his writing style. It’s a really heavy read because he uses a lot of descriptions, smilies and metaphors. Some of them were a struggle to make sense of and I had to read them a few times! Another thing that bugged me are the footnotes at the bottom of the page that sometimes take up half the page. I did not enjoy reading the footnotes so I decided to skip them altogether and when I did that, I enjoyed the story a lot more! So I will finish this book but I am undecided whether I will read the next one because I hadn’t realised it was part of a series, I thought it was a standalone! I’ll have to see when I reach the end and decide if I like the story enough to dedicate myself to a series.

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles: I am really loving this book! I am reading it on Kindle and I am about 30% in and it’s such a unique and interesting story! It’s so different and fresh to what I normally read! So far I am hooked on the story, the writing just pulls you in from the very first page! I have no idea where this story is going but I am excited to find out and I think I’ll have it finished today or tomorrow! If I had time I could easily read it in one sitting! Highly recommend this, guys!

Recently finished:

The Chemist by Stephenie Meyer: This was my first read of 2017 and it was a very disappointing one. It was one of the worst books I have ever read and I can’t believe Stephenie turned such a great plot into this mess. It was not thrilling or a page turner, it was boring and slow with annoying and unbelievable characters. Not one bit of the characters were realistic and I was rolling my eyes so much I’m surprised I had eyes left to roll by the end of the book. I have never felt so let down in a book in all my life and I will never read this again. Ever. I do not recommend it.

Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch: I was incredibly disappointed with this conclusion to the trilogy because I thought it was such a boring book with boring characters. There was pretty much no plot throughout the whole book until about 300 pages and if someone asked me to summarise those three hundred pages I’d have nothing to say. Nothing at all. I really don’t understand why this book was close to 500 pages if the only action (which wasn’t really action) is in the last 200 or so pages. I do not want to read over half the book to get to the good parts they should be spread out especially since it’s the last book in the trilogy. Also, I did not like the characters as much, it feels like they have gotten progressively worse with each book. The romance dominated this book and I had no interest in that! I was interested in the Kingdoms and the magic not Meira and Mather exploring each others bodies. I would not recommend this trilogy, sadly.

What I’ll read next:

A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab! I have heard many great things about her books and I’m excited to see what all the fuss is about! Hopefully these books won’t have been too hyped up for me because I am going into them with very high expectations! Probably a bad idea but I can’t help it with all the praise they’ve been given!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I’d love to know your thoughts if you’ve read any of these books! If you have a post for WWW Wednesday, feel free to leave a link in the comments! Have a great day everyone!

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday!

    • Beth says:

      The synopsis and cover definitely made it sound a lot better than it is! I’ve nearly finished it now and it’s such a gruelling story. It does get a lot better but I don’t really understand a lot of stuff because I refused to read the footnotes. The footnotes made it such a demanding book I felt like I was reading an essay rather than a story. The start was also really confusing, I still don’t understand what it was about! I don’t think I’ll read the next book but I don’t regret reading Nevernight 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rine says:

        I also can’t be bothered reading the footnotes either. I’m in my last year of uni so it feels too like an academic article.

        Like

      • Beth says:

        Eurgh I know that feeling! How far in are you? I stopped reading the footnotes about page 30 and it was A LOT better 🙂 I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t pick it back up again you don’t want to read something that reminds you of uni haha

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

