REVIEW: Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch (Snow Like Ashes #3)

Frost Like NightTitle: Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch
Pages: 496
Published by: Balzer + Bray
Publication date: 20th September 2016
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Hardback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

Angra is alive, his Decay is spreading—and no one is safe.

Meira will do anything to save her world. With Angra trying to break through her mental defenses, she desperately needs to learn to control her own magic—so when the leader of a mysterious Order from Paisly offers to teach her, Meira jumps at the chance.  But the true solution to stopping the Decay lies in a labyrinth deep beneath the Season Kingdoms.  To defeat Angra, Meira will have to enter the labyrinth, destroy the very magic she’s learning to control– and make the biggest sacrifice of all.

Mather will do anything to save his queen. He needs to rally the Children of the Thaw, find Meira—and finally tell her how he really feels.  But with a plan of attack that leaves no kingdom unscathed and a major betrayal within their ranks, winning the war—and protecting Meira—slips farther and farther out of reach.

Ceridwen will do anything to save her people. Angra had her brother killed, stole her kingdom, and made her a prisoner.  But when she’s freed by an unexpected ally who reveals a shocking truth behind Summer’s slave trade, Ceridwen must take action to save her true love and her kingdom, even if it costs her what little she has left.

As Angra unleashes the Decay on the world, Meira, Mather, and Ceridwen must bring the kingdoms of Primoria together…or lose everything.

My review:

I’m going to start by saying I really did not enjoy this book and this review will mainly be negative because I had a lot of issues with it. I really wanted to like it but I just couldn’t and I’m not going to be reading this trilogy a second time. I was just left feeling angry and disappointed at what this trilogy has become. I honestly believe that the first book should have just been a standalone because nothing happens in the other two books to justify it being a trilogy. The whole story could have easily fit into one book because the other two just weren’t needed at all. This may sound harsh but since she wrote the first book when she was twelve, I feel like Snow Like Ashes went through hundreds of re-writes to become the amazing book it is today and in comparison, the last two books had less time spent on them and were rushed which left them with pretty much no plot and a lot of pointless scenes.

I had really high hopes when I started reading it because I actually enjoyed the first fifty pages or so a lot more than I did Ice Like Fire. I thought Mather’s character had improved tremendously because I was enjoying his chapters and didn’t feel tempted to skip them. I was also enjoying Meira’s chapters and it didn’t annoy me when it switched from first person to third person narration. But after the first fifty pages that’s when I started getting bored. Really bored. I would tell you the plot but I don’t even know what happened in it myself so maybe just pretend the synopsis at the top of the page is right and we get an amazing book about war and sacrifice.

I think that the plot for this book was completely forgotten and instead we were left with Meira and Mather’s love life. Every chapter I read from Mather’s point of view was literally filled with Meira this and Meira that. Meira looks so pretty, my stomach hurts with my love for her, she looks like such a Queen right now and she is very pretty. Can you guess what Meira’s chapters were filled with? Mather this and Mather that. I love Mather but I don’t want to admit it. I will instead waste my time staring at Mather and looking away when he stares back at me. Then there was the occasional thought of Theron and her need to rescue him from the clutches of Angra’s Decay. I think that’s about it.

For some reason, Sara decided to add in another characters point of view also in third person. So now we have Meira in first person, Mather in third person and Ceridwen in third person. Why?? What is the need for this? Ceridwen brought nothing of interest to the book and literally just whined about her love life! I had to deal with Mather sulking in the second book and just when I thought it was over, I now had to deal with Ceridwen! She likes to pretend she is such a fierce character but she is actually pretty damn whiny and I just couldn’t wait for her to shut up. And why is she in third person like Mather but Meira is in first person? What is the reason for this? I don’t understand!

So this continues for about three hundred pages and then we actually get to the battle scene which was incredibly boring and not even worth mentioning. And then the book ended on a happy note which is no surprise and I think that was the only time I felt any emotion over this book. Not because it ended happily but because I was just so happy to finally reach the end! I was considering DNF’ing this book but since it was the last book I just couldn’t bring myself to do that so I slowly, ever so slowly, made my way to the end and shelved it! Hallelujah! I will never, ever read this trilogy again because it was just so boring! I can’t believe this is what has become of the first book… what happened to the amazing story and the amazing characters? I don’t even care about the characters anymore, I’ve already forgotten them. Meira was one of my favourite characters when I read the first book but I have scrapped that now. She is not one of my favourites anymore and I will easily forget about her.

I feel like I haven’t wrote a lot about this book compared to the other two but there really isn’t anything else to say about it. I would not recommend this trilogy and if someone stumbles upon the first book and thinks it’s amazing, I will gladly warn them about the mess it becomes in the next two books. I will not be reading anymore of Sara Raasch’s books just because I have no interest in her writing now but I wish her well and hope she writes many more books! I just won’t be reading them.

Leave a Reply

