Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarizing Books

Hello everyone! Here is another Top 5 Wednesday topic and it’s such an interesting one! It focuses on books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. We can pick some of our favourites that fall into this category. A lot of my choices have been made into films so obviously not everyone hated them but I have seen many people say they don’t like the writing or they don’t like the plot because it moves too slowly, etc.

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

twilight1) Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Lets start with the most obvious choice, Twilight! I first read this when I was thirteen or fourteen, my friend told me about it and as soon as I heard about vampires and werewolves I just needed to read it. I love supernatural creatures and this book completely changed what books I read in the future. I moved away from everyday problems and children’s books and started reading more supernatural or fantasy books. I owe a lot to Stephenie Meyer and I absolutely loved the Twilight books. I’ve read the first one so much all the pages are falling out and the cover is all creased and battered. It’s a well read book because I have re-read it over and over, I just love it so much. I know a lot of people dislike the writing and the relationship between Bella and Edward. I have heard so many people say it wasn’t written very well but when I read it as a thirteen/fourteen year old I didn’t really care I would literally read anything.

tmr2) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I think The Maze Runner definitely falls into the either you’re gonna love it or hate it category. James Dashner just has writing that you’ll either love or hate in my opinion. Personally, I love The Maze Runner so much. I absolutely love his writing and I think he is very creative. I love how each of his chapters always end on a cliffhanger, forcing you to carry on reading to find out what happens. He is one of my auto-buy authors and after I read The Maze Runner I went out and bought another trilogy he wrote. I want to buy his other series but I’m waiting until next month for my birthday. Anyway, I have heard a lot of people hating on this book because they don’t like the writing. I haven’t heard any other reasons for not liking his books but I suppose the writing is everything. It’s what makes you want to read the book. You can’t read something if you don’t like the writing. Also, a lot of people prefer the movie over the book because they think the plot is better. I love both the movie and the book. Each are very captivating in their own way and for once I didn’t mind that the film was different to the book because I thought it was done very well and in some places, it did stay true to the book.

Hush Hush3) Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Becca Fitzpatrick is another one of my favourite authors. I literally scream from the rooftops about how much I love her Hush Hush series. It’s one of my favourite series but it’s not entirely perfect. I have seen people say that they dislike this series but I can’t remember why, I think it was the plot and the MC Nora but I’m not too sure. I know that in the third book Nora and Patch become very annoying because they are constantly fighting and going behind each other’s backs. I read this series when I was sixteen and I was obsessed with the idea of fallen angels so it was the perfect read for me. I thought it was well written and I enjoyed the writing. The plot really got my attention and I still recommend this series to all of my friends.

City of Bones14) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I have seen so many people adding this book to their DNF pile. Since I bloody loved this book, it’s hard for me to imagine why. I know that a lot of people said this book was originally supposed to be a trilogy (ending with City of Glass) and that it should have stayed that way. I loved all six books, there wasn’t one I didn’t like. I think people have a problem with Cassandra Clare because she apparently plagiarises and to be fair, a lot of her books revolve around true stories that happened years ago and she just adds her own little twist. Or they revolve around stories and poems (most recently Lady Midnight). Personally I think that is a very creative way of writing a book because it encourages people to remember classical books and famous poets but I can understand why some people would be angry at that. Some people said City of Bones was just her Draco books re-made with different characters and they have a lot of evidence to back that up. If I read her fan fiction I might feel the same way but at the minute I really do love her books. She is one of my auto-buy authors.

Peculiar5) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This is definitely a book that people are either going to love or hate just because it’s very different compared to other books. Ransom’s use of photographs to build up his fictional world is an interesting way to write a book and I think it’s a very creative way, too. A lot of people saw the cover and thought it was going to be scary and it really isn’t. The start gives you some goosebumps but after that nothing remotely scary happens in this book. The photographs make the book a little creepy because they are so strange and peculiar but they don’t make the book scary at all. I have seen some people say they don’t think a lot happens in this book, especially at the start. The start of the book mainly just builds up the story and introduces you to all the characters. I really enjoyed this book and I thought the plot was awesome. The second book was my favourite but the third book was meh. It was okay but not the best ending to a trilogy.

So these are some of my favourite polarizing books! I really enjoyed writing this post and hope that we have similar ones like this in the future! I think it’s really interesting reading about everyone’s opinions of popular books. I would love to know if you guys love or hate my choices and if you have a Top 5 Wednesday post for this week, please leave a link in the comments because I would love read it! Have a great day everyone!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Polarizing Books

  1. onceuponabookshelfblog says:

    Wonderful post! I really like your choices! I will agree with you on MazeRunner, I honestly enjoyed reading the book. I loved the movie but reading the book gives more details about the characters (ex. I love reading Minho’s sarcastic comments lol) OMG Hush Hush was my obsession back in the day lol I will agree that in one of the books the characters were a bit much since they were keeping things from one another but the series as a whole is pretty decent. I only saw the movie for Home for Peculiar Children but I am thinking of reading the book just so I understand more of the history/details. Can you believe I have never read a Cassandra Claire book? It has become one of my goals for this year to start either the mortal instruments or infernal devices. I feel like everyone loves these series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Aw thank you! I love reading about the relationship between Thomas, Newt and Minho! I love how Newt calls him “Tommy” it’s so cute! 😀 The character development is a lot better in the book I think but the films are amazing, The Scorch Trials gave me goosebumps! YESSS! I finished Finale and then picked up Hush Hush again and re-read the whole series even though I just finished it 😂 You should definitely read Miss Peregrine’s book, they changed so much in the film! The film basically did all three books in one so I have no idea if they will make a second film now because they don’t really need to… that annoyed me because they had three books to inspire them but instead they did it all in one… why?? So annoying. Ahhh, if you do I recommend reading The Infernal Devices first because a lot of people prefer that to TMI and if you don’t enjoy TMI it might put you off reading TID so definitely read the trilogy first 😀 Jem is in it and he is one of my favourite characters, he’s just so cute 😍 I have honestly loved every single Shadowhunter book Cassie has wrote, so I definitely think you should consider picking her books up this year 😀 If you do, I hope you won’t be disappointed and love them just as much as everyone else does!

      Liked by 1 person

      • onceuponabookshelfblog says:

        Omg yes I adore the way newt calls him tommy and I love how they added it to the second film! I was fangirling lol OMG I watched the scorch trials with my friends when it was released and it was just so freaky and action packed I loved it!

        Wait so they seriously pushed all three books for Miss Peregrines into one movie??? I thought it was just the first book. Hmmm interesting 🤔 I think I will definitely pick it up in the future cuz the concept seemed interesting and I want to know more about the world and the characters

        Yes!!! I heard the same thing about the TID!! Everyone has told me that this is the only love triangle they will ever support and that seriously surprised me! I heard that the characters are really great too so I will make it my goal to complete this series this year 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth says:

        When they are being chased by the cranks in that building omg it was so scary 😫 It was so intense! No the ending/weird fight scene in the film was not in the books they completely made that part up! The first book ends way before any of that happens and then it continues for the next two books. So the way they did the film means the second books don’t matter anymore if they made another film! Yeah! TID had a really good love triangle I haven’t heard anyone say they didn’t like it, it was done that well! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

