Favourite Book to Movie Adaptations

Hey guys! I thought this would be a really fun post to write and a chance to explore some of my favourite book to movie adaptations! I’d love to know if you guys agree or disagree with any of my choices!

1) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I absolutely loved The Maze Runner series by James Dashner and it just keeps getting better and better with the latest release The Fever Code. I was super excited for the film but I was hesitant about the actors, especially Dylan, because I struggled to imagine him as Thomas. I am glad I gave the film I chance because I was so wrong about Dylan! He made a perfect Thomas, his acting was amazing! I know the film didn’t follow the book entirely but I thought it was a really interesting plot and it just got better with The Scorch Trials! I am so incredibly excited to see how it will all end in The Death Cure and how much of the book they follow if you know what I mean… no spoilers from me.

2) Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

I thought this film was flipping amazing. I really liked the book and I thought the film did a fantastic job of following the story. They did leave out some really important scenes though which I thought were a crucial turning point for some of the characters. It didn’t matter too much though because the film was still very enjoyable without these scenes. I loved all of the actors I thought they did a fantastic job and they were very true to the characters. Like the book, I didn’t find the ending very emotional and I was a little disappointed because I was expecting to cry buckets but it just didn’t make me cry at all. I still really enjoyed it though and I’m curious to see if they will turn After You into a film.

3) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Now this was one very emotional film. Like Me Before You, it stayed very true to the book and the actors were so beautifully picked. I was very impressed with their acting, they matched the characters so well. It was like the characters had just stepped straight out of the book. I really enjoyed this film and I cried at the end, it was so sad. I loved the book and I bloody loved the film.

4) War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

I cried and cried and cried when I read this book. I could not stop crying, it was such an emotional and heartbreaking book. When they announced a film I was so happy because I thought this book was very underrated and needed more recognition. I was so happy with the film I thought it was amazing. It was a very important film to me and it was done beautifully. It was just as hard to watch as the book was hard to read. I cried so much watching this film and I was very happy with how closely it followed the book.

There you have it! Some of my favourite book to movie adaptations! All of these came to mind straight away when I first thought of this post and there is only four because I really couldn’t think of a fifth one. I hope you all enjoyed this post and are having a lovely Christmas!

 

4 thoughts on “Favourite Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. Becca says:

    The Me Before You movie was 😍😍 I’ve not read the book but it didn’t feel like anything was missing in the character development. Now I’m curious about what scenes were left out though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      You need to read the book! It’s one of those books that you cannot put down! I really liked the film even without this one scene but I was a bit disappointed it wasn’t in there because it was a pretty important scene in the book 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Thanks! Same I was really surprised because I didn’t think it’d be my type of book but I was completely sucked in! I loved all the characters and the film was really good, very true to the book!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

