Books I wish I read in 2016

This seemed like a really good post to do and an appropriate one for me since my TBR pile is like sky high! I have unsuccessfully been trying to get this pile significantly down in size and here are some books that I really wish I had prioritised and read them before anything else!

the-fever-code1) The Fever Code by James Dashner

James Dashner is one of my favourite authors! I auto-buy his books just because I love his writing so much! I was so freaking excited for this book coming out and when I finally got an email saying I could collect it I practically ran to the shop for it! I was so eager to devour this book because I love The Maze Runner series so damn much. But I got like fifty pages into this and put it down. I’m not sure if it’s because I was falling into a dreaded reading slump or if it’s because I’m still so traumatised after reading The Death Code it’s stopping me from reading this and seeing all those characters again. But I hate myself for not reading it because I have so many unanswered questions and this book holds all the answers! Why have I not read it yet? Stupid, idiot me. I really regret not reading this and I am ashamed of myself.

falling-kingdoms2) Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

I have been wanting to read this book for months. I finally bought it from Book Depository but I just haven’t picked it up yet. I really regret it because another book just came out, the fifth I think, and I have so much catching up to do if I end up liking this series. I am just digging a bigger hole for myself.

 

 

 

 

Nevernight3) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I really want to read this book! I have been really curious about it for a while now because the synopsis makes it sound so freaking good! The cover is also so pretty! It’s one of my favourite covers I honestly take this book off my shelf just so I can look at the cover. Don’t ask me why I haven’t read it yet because I really don’t know but I wish I had read it!

 

 

 

 

a-torch-against-the-night4) A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

I honestly have no idea why I haven’t read this yet considering how much I liked An Ember in the Ashes. I took it on holiday but never got around to reading it and then when I got back off holiday I just put it back on my shelf and picked up another book instead. Hopefully I can read it in early 2017 because I’m sure it’s going to be full of amazing plot twists and action-packed scenes!

 

 

 

The raven boys5) The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I really wish I had read this when the last book came out because so many people have said they love these books! I have just been really hesitant to read it because I really didn’t enjoy the Shiver trilogy, literally nothing happened in all three of those books! I’m just like what if these books are the same? What if the characters are really annoying and the plot is nonexistent? I am determined to get to it soon though.

 

 

 

Eragon6) Eragon by Christopher Paolini

I am incredibly disappointed in myself for not reading Eragon yet. I absolutely love dragons and this was mainly a cover buy because it has a freaking dragon on the cover. It looks so good and I really want to read it January or February.

 

 

 

 

 

tales7) Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

I really wish I had read this right after I finished Library of Souls when the story was still fresh in my mind. I mean, I still remember everything but it’s better to read the next book as soon as you’ve finished the last if that makes sense. I was really excited for this, too, because they talk about it a lot in the books so it would be pretty cool to finally be able to see everything they go into detail over!

 

 

 

chasing-the-dead8) Chasing the Dead by Tim Weaver

I made the mistake of buying and reading the fourth book in this series thinking it was a standalone but I soon realised there were three books before it and another following on from it. I then bought the first three books intending to read them because I really enjoyed the fourth book and wanted to find out more about this characters life and retrace his steps basically since it was the freaking fourth book. I am disappointed I didn’t manage to get around to Chasing the Dead but I really like crime thrillers so hopefully I will pick it up soon!

 

 

This post is longer than normal but I hope you all enjoyed it! What are some books you wish you had read this year? I might prioritise these for early-mid 2017 and maybe continue my book buying ban after I buy Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth.

Leave a Reply

