Least Favourite Books of 2016

Hey guys! I thought this would be a really interesting post to do where I look back on all the books I’ve read this year and focus on the ones I really didn’t enjoy and actually found to be quite disappointing! I am in no way saying they are awful books because lots of people really liked them but sadly this wasn’t the case for me!

Rebel of the Sands1) Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This book was just full of so many spelling mistakes and punctuation errors it was like no one had even bothered to edit this and just published a first draft. It might seem harsh but I really wasn’t impressed with all the mistakes I was noticing. The characters really didn’t stand out for me either and I found it hard to like the main character. The story was alright but not the best it didn’t really intrigue me or make me want to continue the book. I did finish it eventually but I am definitely not reading the second book anytime soon.

 

 

Ice like fire2) Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

I read Snow Like Ashes earlier this year and I absolutely loved it! I thought it was an amazing fantasy book and it had some impressive plot twists and very likeable characters. But then the second book happened and it all just went downhill. The plot was so boring and dull with very little action or interesting scenes happening. It was such a nightmare to read it took me weeks because I just did not want to pick this book up again after I put it down. I have bought the final book but I just don’t know when I will read it because Ice Like Fire was such a disappointing read.

 

Harry Potter3) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One & Two by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Please don’t hate me for this but this book was absolutely terrible! Albus was such a horrible character I couldn’t stand him! I also felt like Harry, Hermione and Ron were very different and I didn’t like them as much in this one. The plot wasn’t very good either I found myself getting bored whilst reading it. It just felt like such a disappointment after all the hype leading up to it. It definitely did not live up to the hype and I am hesitant to read Fantastic Beasts now because of it. The only thing I liked about this book was Scorpius because he was such a funny and entertaining character.

Library of Souls4) Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

I would really like for the whole of Library of Souls to be re-written because it was an incredibly disappointing end to this wonderful trilogy. Half the characters disappeared and we were left with Jacob and Emma who were not enough to do this book justice. It needed all the characters because these are the ones we fell in love with in the first book and to take them away for the whole of the last book – what was he thinking? The plot was so boring it took me forever to read this and I hated parts of it. The last hundred pages or so were much better and really action packed but it still wasn’t the best conclusion to this story. The ending gave me no closure and I finished this book feeling disappointed.

A Court of Mist and Fury5) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I am going to get so much hate for this but it has to go on the list because I disliked this book so much I didn’t even finish reading it! I got two hundred pages in before I decided to DNF this book. The plot was just so boring it was irritating me and the sudden change in Tamlin’s character was a big no no for me. I just really did not enjoy this book but I am going to try and read it again before the third book comes out, if that makes you feel any better?

 

 

 

So these are five books that were my least favourite and most disappointing reads of 2016! I would love to know if you agree or disagree with any of my choices, feel free leave a comment down below or leave a link to your post if you published something similar!

4 thoughts on “Least Favourite Books of 2016

  1. NatashaReadsBooks says:

    I didn’t really like miss Pergrine’s home for Peculiar Children & haven’t continued the series yet. I mean, it was ok but just meh. Although I did LOVE ACOMAF. With Tamlin’s character I don’t think it was such a sudden change- it was more little things in the first book that points his character in that direction (little things that you don’t notice/over look etc), & it becomes big things in ACOMAF that are more noticeable- but they mimic real life. If someone is abusive or controlling they don’t show it at first. Or its little things that are easy to over look & make excuses for. But the longer you’re with them, the worse it becomes (& Amarantha & the PTSD made it worsen I think). – that’s just my thoughts on it though. (I have been in a similar situation before). I hope you do give it a second chance. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      I really liked Miss Peregrine books but the last one was such a massive disappointment so if you didn’t enjoy the first one I wouldn’t recommend continuing it! The second one was amazing but the third book ugh I did not enjoy it as much 😦 That is a really good point tbh and I didn’t think of it like that! I think if I re-read the first one those traits would probably stand out more. I definitely will don’t worry 🙂 maybe nearer the time for the third book so it’s fresh in my mind 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • NatashaReadsBooks says:

        I read ACOTAR & was uncertain if i wanted to continue the series, but i was so glad i did. After finishing ACOMAF I immediately reread both becauseci wanted to reread ACOTAR with what I learned from ACOMAF in my mind. (Like what I learned of Tamlin, & what I learned of Rhysand, etc). I plan to reread both for when the third comes out!! 😉😉 as for MPHFPC – i am a really picky reader. And these books were interesting, interesting story, and concept etc. But if it was bc I was in a partial book slump or what but I just couldn’t get into the book & couldn’t enjoy it. I forced my way through it. I’ve been debating whether or not to reread the first or continue the series, but I haven’t yet (right now reading Harry Potter series for the first time.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth says:

        A lot of people said they sounded really interesting but were not what they expected in the end which is why they didn’t like them. Maybe reread the first one again and if you really don’t enjoy it the second time just ditch the series 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

