REVIEW: A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray (Firebird Trilogy #3)

A million worldsTitle: A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray
Pages: 419
Published by: HarperTeen
Publication date: 1st November 2016
Genre: Science Fiction
Format: Hardback
Amazon UK – Book Depository

Synopsis:

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite’s hands in the final installment of the Firebird trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray.

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parent’s invention, to cross through alternate dimensions, Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud. Now she has learned that the evil Triad Corporation plans to destroy hundreds of universes, using their ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite who is wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

Even though her boyfriend Paul has always been at Marguerite’s side, the Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man, and he may never be the same again. Marguerite alone must stop Triad and prevent the destruction of the multiverse. It’s a battle of the Marguerites . . . and only one can win.

In the epic conclusion to the sweeping series that kicked off with A Thousand Pieces of You, fate and family will be questioned, loves will be won and lost, and the multiverse will be forever changed.

My review:

“I’d been so shaken by finding my one worst self that I never considered how much it might change our fates by finding someone else’s best self. Travel through enough dimensions and maybe you’d find the hero and the villain in everyone.”

I can’t believe this trilogy is over! Whilst they were not the best books I have read, I really enjoyed the story and this was definitely an epic conclusion to the Firebird trilogy! By the way, I absolutely love the covers of these books! They are seriously stunning and match the story so perfectly!

If you read my review of the previous book then you’d know I really did not like the start of Ten Thousand Skies Above You and found it to be very confusing. I was hesitant to start this one but it was much better than the opening of the second book. It was a lot smoother and easier to follow and you are literally sucked into the story right from the start. From the very first page Marguerite is fighting for her life and it really makes you want to find out why she is in this situation! It was brilliantly written and the way it flipped between the past and the present was superb. The ending of each chapter was so intense it just made me want to keep turning page after page. It was so hard to put down because every scene was so insane! It was incredibly action-packed all the way through, there was never a dull moment. One thing that bothered me though was about halfway through the book I was so confused because there are so many freaking dimensions to keep track of! I kept getting them confused and I didn’t have a clue what was going on but it got better as I kept reading but it was like way too much information for me to remember everything.

One thing that disappointed me about this book was that Theo was not really in it. He only came in to it at the end and even then we didn’t really see a lot of him. This book was focused solely on Marguerite and Paul and their relationship. Paul is a completely changed man after his soul was splintered and he is constantly fighting a battle against his dark side and trying to be the good guy. Marguerite is fighting for their love and trying to prove to him that he is capable of love and being loved back. The only thing that annoyed me was how much they talked about destiny and fate. Paul believes that because they aren’t together in every alternate universe they encounter, they have no future because destiny does not bring them together time and time again. This really frustrated me because a lot of the book was the two of them arguing about destiny and I have zero interest in that. Why does it matter how many universes they are together in? It really doesn’t affect them in the slightest because they don’t live in that universe, they aren’t from that world. As long as they are together and happy in their world, nothing else matters.

This book shows how much they love each other and the lengths they’d go to for each other. But for me it was too late because I really felt like their relationship was forced on us in the first two books and if this had happened in the first book I’d be more inclined to ship them together. I really loved Marguerite and Theo together because the first two books were focused on the two of them and Paul was more like a background character. I was glad that we finally got to see more of Marguerite and Paul but it still wasn’t enough to convince me to ship them. What I did like was how much more Paul was in this book and it really made me like him more. In the first two books I really did not like him, I just thought he was a really flat and boring character but in A Million Worlds With You I connected with him more.

I loved how we got to witness a dark side to every character. In the first book we saw Theo’s dark side and the second book we saw Paul’s dark side but in the third book we found out that Marguerite was the darkest character out of them all. She is chasing after her alternate self, who she nicknames Wicked, fighting to save all the other Marguerite’s and protect every dimension. Wicked was incredibly ruthless and she didn’t care what happened to anyone. She just had one mission and went to any amount of lengths to complete it. It really shows that even the kindest people can have a dark side if they are pushed to their limit. I felt for Wicked and understood why she was doing all those horrible things but it was kind of scary the lengths she would go to and it was interesting to see Marguerite’s feelings about it all. Marguerite had to admit that the evil in Wicked was also apart of her because they were the same person. She couldn’t judge Theo and Paul for their dark sides when Wicked showed that Marguerite was capable of evil too. It was interesting to see her admit this to herself and how she dealt with it in the end.

The ending was so freaking action-packed! It was like mini explosions going off every few pages and there was one point when my jaw was falling open from shock! I really loved this book because it had me hooked throughout. There was one point though at the end when Marguerite came up with a solution to everything but it was so stupid and made the whole book incredibly pointless! But then she had to come up with another solution and I was so relieved! That ending would have sucked! It made the ending so much better because just when they think they have saved the dimensions Wicked comes back and sends everything spiralling out of control! I was gripping the book so hard, desperate to find out how it was all going to end. It was a good ending I really liked it and I thought everything was wrapped up nicely and I got the closure I wanted.

All in all, I am glad I read these books because they were different to what I normally read but I don’t think I will be reading them again anytime soon. I will daydream about meeting my own Theo and occasionally picking the books off my shelf to look at the gorgeous covers. But apart from that I didn’t like them enough to immediately want to read them again which is disappointing but I would recommend them if you like science fiction and time travel!

Leave a Reply

