Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

Hey guys! Hope you have all had a great week so far! The topic this week is open up to TV shows as well. You can choose any book series or TV show that you thought started out strong but then got increasingly worse with each book/season. I would advise you to prepare yourselves for some serious rants but also a little love because even though these books make me angry, I do have a soft spot for them too.

Please do not be offended by any of my choices, this is just my personal opinion. Just because I have included these books/TV shows on my list does not mean that they are awful and that I wouldn’t recommend them. Just because I do not enjoy these particular ones does not mean someone else won’t.

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

Fallen by Lauren Kate (Book series)

Not going to lie, I immediately thought of these books when I saw this topic. Fallen started out so strong, it was such an intriguing idea for a book. It drew me in immediately and I really loved all the characters and I was caught up with Daniel like Luce was… I was constantly wondering why he was so familiar to her and if they had met before. But then book two and three and four happened and I completely lost it. The writing was terrible, Luce was a horrible main character, she constantly complained and blamed Daniel for everything, if I remember correctly. I honestly don’t know how he put up with her, I was so done with her and gave him so much credit for still loving her. The only redeeming quality about these books is the freaking covers because they are so gorgeous! I absolutely love the first two covers. They are pretty much what made me pick these books up!

The Vampire Diaries (TV show)

Oh my, where do I even start with this? I truly loved the first three seasons, absolutely amazing! The acting, the characters, the storylines… check, check and check. They had me watching every episode, every week and then having TVD marathons when all the boxsets came out. But then season four happened and why, oh why did they have to ruin it so soon? Season four was the worst season for me. They dragged one tiny storyline out for the whole season! That’s twenty three stinking episodes of everyone searching for one tiny cure to vampirism. I think I was starting to fall asleep halfway through every episode. I did watch season five and that was a lot better but I didn’t watch season six because, for me, that was it, the show had lost its magic. I had moved on to better TV shows (Supernatural, The Walking Dead, Teen Wolf… *sighs happily*). I do, however, want to catch up one day considering I watched this show every week. It’s a shame to not find out how it all ends. Maybe one day I’ll force myself to sit through all these awful episodes and hope it will be worth it in the end! The Vampire Diaries was the first ever TV show I started watching so I feel like I have to see it through until the end!

Divergent by Veronica Roth (Book series)

I can’t even tell you how angry and disappointed I am at the turn these books took. And it’s not the major twist at the end, it’s the whole of the third book that annoyed me. For starters, Tris was such an annoying character by the end of the second book, what even happened? She constantly lied and argued with Four which got me questioning whether they were ever truly happy? It didn’t seem like it to me. Secondly, the third book is split between Tris and Tobias’s point of view and this greatly annoyed me. Veronica Roth did a poor job of it because I couldn’t tell who’s point of view I was reading from half the time. Their voices were just too similar and I found myself having to re-start several chapters because I thought I was reading from Tris’s point of view only to find I was actually reading from Four’s point of view! I was ready to rip my hair out. Divergent was such a great book but it just got progressively worse with the second and third book and I really didn’t enjoy them as much as the first.

House of Night by Kristin Cast and P.C. Cast (Book series)

I don’t even know where to start with these books… there are twelve in total and I managed to read eight of them before I got fed up and lost interest. The characters were annoying and the plot was awful. This series had a really strong start but gradually got worse and worse with each book I read. Plus, my interest in a series can only last so long before it starts to die out and with a book series my total is six books. Anymore than that and I start to move on to other things and lose interest. The only thing that made me keep reading these books was the covers because, damn, they are pretty! They were actually some of my favourite covers out of all the books I owned and I think they are better suited for these books than the new covers. The books are about vampires and these covers are all dark and mysterious which really suited the story. The new ones are really bright and colourful with people standing in stupid poses. They just seem like the complete opposite of the story and I wouldn’t feel inclined to buy these books if I saw them in a bookshop.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead (Book series)

I really cannot stand these books, I’m so sorry guys but I just don’t understand why they are so popular. Again, the characters were so awful I just couldn’t stand any of them and the writing was terrible. I noticed hundreds of mistakes in some books, including one of the characters even changing names halfway through the series! Who does that? Apparently she forgot she already named him in previous books, so she gave him a new name. I’m not judging but that’s pretty bad and I wasn’t impressed. I just can’t find anything to say about these books that I liked and as I got further and further into the series I hated it more and more. Please don’t hate me for saying this but it’s one of the worst series I’ve ever read and I will never pick up another book by Richelle Mead. Sorry.

Again, I just wanted to say that just because I didn’t enjoy these particular ones does not mean someone else won’t enjoy them. Everyone has different tastes and just because I do not enjoy long book series does not mean someone else won’t. In fact, I love Cassandra Clare’s books and have a whole bookshelf dedicated to her books. She must have twelve Shadowhunter books in total and is writing more and more. So people who love House of Night have every right to do so and just because I didn’t enjoy them does not mean I wouldn’t recommend them. I would recommend them to anyone who loves vampire books and intriguing plots. The same goes for The Vampire Diaries but I must warn you all that the love triangle is absolutely horrific and caused many arguments between fans. I would recommend the Fallen series to anyone who loves reading about fallen angels and doppelgängers, and Divergent for people who love dystopian books because Veronica Roth’s writing is absolutely fantastic. Her new book Carve the Mark comes out in January and I am so excited to read it just because I really enjoyed her writing when I was reading Divergent! 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! I would love to read your Top 5 Wednesday post so please leave a link to it in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

  1. Katie G says:

    Oh lol just read that you hate Richelle Mead’s right after I made a nice comment about her on my post! No biggie I can totally understand that opinions are different. She’s one of my favorite fantasy authors but I know they aren’t the best books out there. For some reason I just love them! (Says the girl with the unpopular opinion about Twilight)
    Katie x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Haha I haven’t read Bloodlines so I can’t comment on that but anything has to be better than Allegiant! If you can tell the difference between the characters then she’s already better! I did enjoy some of them and would totally recommend them to people I think would like them but personally they just weren’t for me 🙂 Haha I love Twilight 😂 Everyone has different opinions not everyone will like the same things 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      I tried watching season 6 but I just couldn’t it was so bad! I have seen a lot of the storylines and I don’t know how people are still watching it! It’s so ridiculous now what they’re doing

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

