November Wrap Up!

Before I get into this post I just wanted to say I recently hit 100 followers! I wanted to thank you guys for liking my posts, commenting on them and liking my blog enough to follow me! I started this blog off just for fun and to share my love of books with everyone and it’s crazy to see so many people follow me! Thank you guys so much and I hope you enjoy this post!

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-3-46-51-pm

I didn’t read a lot this month but nonetheless I am happy with what I’ve read! I read two books which have both been quite surprising reads! Not something I’d normally read but very enjoyable and highly recommended books! The other book I read was a book of illustrations and another one I would wholeheartedly recommend for fans of Cassandra Clare!

the-martian1) The Martian by Andy Weir 

I received this as a Secret Santa present last year and I was very hesitant to read it because I was unsure if I’d like it or not but it was actually a really fun and enjoyable read! The main character finds himself stranded on Mars and with no way to communicate with Earth. There are various ways for him to die and even if he manages to survive, he will still eventually run out of food and starve to death. He has to find ways to survive using quick thinking and a lot of experimenting with ideas. Surprisingly, he has quite a positive outlook on the situation and he is quite a fun, witty and sarcastic character at times. I always worried I wouldn’t understand a lot of what was happening but it’s actually all explained really well and it’s easy to follow the story. I would definitely recommend this and I’m really glad I did read it in the end.

shadowhunters2) An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean

This is the gorgeous book full of illustrations! It covers characters from The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, The Dark Artifices and many more! It has breathtaking drawings of Cassie’s characters and then a small paragraph next to them telling facts about them we’ve never heard of. Some of them are quite funny, some are a little sad but uplifting. It’s a really nice book and I’m glad I bought it. I spent hours poring over the pages revisiting old and new characters.

 

 

the-other-einstein3) The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

This is another book I was really surprised by! It’s an unexpected read for me but I really, really, really enjoyed it. It’s a fictional re-imagining of Mileva “Mitza” Marić who worked with and married Albert Einstein. It’s quite a sad story but very empowering because it shows how much women struggled for an education and their right to attend university. It also questions how much Mitza was involved in Albert’s Theory of Relativity and how much of it was actually her own work. It’s very thought-provoking and insightful, it had me questioning a lot of things. I’m glad I read it because I have learned so much about Mitza including what a brilliant woman and scientist she was. Historical fiction is something I tend to avoid but in this case I’m glad I didn’t.

I didn’t stick to my TBR, unfortunately. But I am currently reading Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy! I didn’t realise how massive it was so it is taking me a while to get through it but I will hopefully have a review up soon! What books did you read this month? Feel free to leave a comment below!

3 thoughts on “November Wrap Up!

  1. whispersofthoughtsblog says:

    Congratulations on 100 followers! 😀
    I’ve been meaning to read The Martian for ages now and I’m kinda sad I won’t be able to do it in 2016. 😦 And because I want to read the book first I haven’t even watched the movie yet and I’ve heard many good reviews on it – the sacrifices I make for books… xD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

