Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Villains

I have been waiting all month for this post! I bloody love villains and I always seem to fall for them! There’s just something so fascinating about them, they just draw you to them and you can’t contain your burning curiosity. You just have to find out more about them and once you do, that’s it! You can’t let them go! These are more TV show characters than book characters just because I think TV shows portray the best villains and they are some of my favourites.

This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

Negan (The Walking Dead)

I think Negan is one of those villains you really want to hate, like really bad, but you just find yourself liking them more and more. I was so torn in the season 7 premiere because he killed one of my favourite characters but then I found myself not completely hating him either. I was fascinated by him because he was just so power crazy and he managed to frighten Rick (amazing acting from Andrew Lincoln) plus gain control over their little group.

Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes) 

I really loved the actor who played Moriarty in the TV show because he was amazing at that role! He got a lot of recognition for it and it was well deserved! He played Moriarty really well and he was such a crazy villain! He is one of my favourite villains and I hope he makes another appearance in the TV show because I’m like 90% sure he isn’t dead… He just seems like someone who wouldn’t die and would pop up again unexpectedly.

Warner (Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi)

In the first book, Warner is the main villain to me because he’s trying to make Juliette do stuff she doesn’t want to and he’s really just tormenting her. But I really liked him and thought he was a really interesting character. I’m completely drawn to him and can’t wait to find out more about him because I’m pretty sure he isn’t a bad guy really and has just had to adjust to the new world. I read his perspective in Unite Me and I really enjoyed it because his mindset is just really fascinating. I think he is a character I’m really going to like in the future.

Crowley (Supernatural)

I think everyone loves Crowley just because he is sassy, funny and he knows how to get what he wants. He always ensures that he will end up on top in any situation. I think he’s very manipulative when it comes to being good and bad. He will come to Sam and Dean’s aid but only if it benefits him in some way, even though he’s a demon he will pick whatever side benefits him the most. He’s such a funny character and twelve seasons in, he is still my favourite villain of the show. I love all the scenes with Crowley and it’s especially funny watching scenes with Dean and Crowley!

Klaus Mikaelson (The Vampire Diaries/The Originals)

I have always loved Klaus. I just find him impossible to hate, I just can’t. I feel so bad for him the majority of the time, even when he does something really evil. At times he is a ruthless villain and will do anything to ensure he has power over everyone. I think he is a misunderstood character at times and a lot of it stems from his family and how his father treated him. He is a monster at times but he has shown he has a soft spot for his family though and that he is capable of love and being loved.

There you have it! My favourite villains! Now that I think about it, the only proper scary villain on that list is definitely Negan. He’s such a twisted character but I do want to find out more about him! Why is it that we always seem to choose the bad guy over the good guy? I think they just have a better backstory most of the time and half the time they are only villains because they’ve been betrayed too many times by people they love, etc. Who are some of your favourite villains? Feel free to leave a link to your Top 5 Wednesday post!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Villains

Leave a Reply

