Book Traveling Thursdays: It’s Thanksgiving!

Hey guys! I thought I’d try this weekly meme called Book Traveling Thursdays hosted by The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle’s Book Blog!

This weekly meme consists in picking a book related to the weekly theme that is announced in the group Goodreads page (if you want to join click here) at the beginning of each month. After that you can write a blog post where you explain why you choose that book and choose different covers from different countries. To make it a little bit easy you are going to choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

This week’s topic involves Thanksgiving where you choose a book you’re thankful you read! I’m from the UK and we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving but this sounded really fun and I just had to take part! I decided to pick The Book Thief by Markus Zusak! I am so grateful to have read this wonderful book! It’s a really emotional and incredibly captivating story. It had a massive impact on me and it had such a significant story it truly is an unforgettable book. It’s my favourite book and I would highly recommend it if you haven’t read it. Here are a couple versions of this book:

Original cover:

the-book-thief

I don’t really like this cover… I don’t think it really tells you anything about the story and it just isn’t very interesting to me. The domino’s probably do have some significance with relation to the story but I just don’t see it so this is not my favourite cover!

Cover from my country (UK):

the book thief

This cover is so gorgeous and really eye-catching! I love how it’s a little girl (Liesel) is dancing with Death! It’s just such an interesting cover that, in my opinion, has a lot of meaning and significance! I also love how the cover looks all worn like the pages from a book! It’s my favourite cover and I feel incredibly lucky to own such a beautiful book!

Favourite covers:

 

The one on the right is the US Special Anniversary Edition and it is flipping gorgeous! I bought it right away from Book Depository and I am in love. I love how the letters are all smudged and there is writing in the background, it’s soooo pretty it hurts. I bloody love these covers! Thank you for these wonderful masterpieces!

Least favourite covers:

These just look dull and uninteresting in my opinion. The third one, which is the UK Teen cover, is especially ugly. I am really not digging that cover. Basically the only one I actually like is the UK Adult one!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! I thought it’d make a nice change from what I usually post! Do any of you guys take part in this weekly meme? Feel free to leave links to your posts in the comments! Hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving if you do celebrate it!

Leave a Reply

