My Dream Book Conference

Hey guys! This is a little different to what I normally post but I thought it would make a nice change and I had a lot of fun writing it! If you’d like to use a resource to plan and find conferences in your local area, I’d suggest checking out Eventbrite and using their conference management page as a way to plan and find conferences in your local area!

I thought this post was a really interesting idea and I have decided to divide this post into some of my favourite genres and for each genre I have picked two authors I’d love to hear talk about these genres and their books. I hope you enjoy it!

Urban Fantasy

One of the most interesting genres for me has to be Urban Fantasy. It amazes me how an author is able to take a real place and create a whole other world inside it. It’s so interesting how they can incorporate fantasy and supernatural creatures and have them living alongside society without people ever realising it. It’s such an awesome idea and definitely takes a lot of patience and creativity.

One author I highly admire for being able to pull this off so amazingly has to be Cassandra Clare. I would absolutely love to meet Cassandra just to ask her so many questions about her books and to tell her how wonderful I think her writing is. She writes such detailed books with incredibly thought out storylines. I auto-buy every book she writes, I’m just hooked on her stories. I would love to hear her talk about writing fantasy books and how she is able to make them link together so perfectly. She has pretty much created a whole new world with these books and it’s absolutely fascinating to me.

I am a huge fan of books about wolves or werewolves. I have always been interested in wolves just because I think they are such fascinating creatures. How they travel in packs and how this affects their survival, plus the whole alpha thing… it’s just so interesting to me! I loved the wolves in City of Bones and another pack of wolves that I found interesting was the wolves in Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. She added her own interesting twist to werewolves because they only turned when the temperature was below freezing. I think it would be really interesting to see Cassandra and Maggie talk about wolves and give some tips on writing about fantasy and urban fantasy. I would also love to hear Maggie talk about all the research she had to do on wolves and what she learned about them. I think it would really help people who want to write their own fantasy books on werewolves.

Dystopian

This was such a popular genre and I absolutely devoured any dystopian books I could find. My favourites include Divergent by Veronica Roth and The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Both include such unique ideas and characters that it kept me hooked throughout, desperate to find out how they end. I would love to hear Veronica and James discuss how they came up with their story and what they love most about writing dystopian books. I would love to hear any tips or advice they have for writing dystopian novels, especially James Dashner because his writing is superb and he really has a way of drawing the reader in and not letting them go until they’ve turned the very last page.

I loved how there was still so much mystery surrounding The Maze Runner that James was able to write two other books to answer some of those burning questions we had! It took him three years to write the first book and I am curious to see what advice he would give others going through the same thing. It would be interesting to know if he would give any advice on how he finally managed to finish it and what was going through his head at the time. It can be a real challenge writing and then trying to finish a book so it’s nice to see the success surrounding The Maze Runner and I’d love to tell him how much I enjoying his writing and to thank him for writing these awesome books.

Fantasy/Paranormal

I would love, love, love to see an author panel focusing on fantasy/paranormal books. This is a really interesting genre because it’s a pretty open one that can be mixed up a bit and include supernatural and adventure. I love anything supernatural related and when it’s mixed in with paranormal? Amazing. Paranormal books contain so many fascinating creatures and stories and one author who has managed to pull this off has to be Ransom Riggs, hands down. His book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was freaking amazing. It was full of so many amazing characters and it is such a hugely creative story based off some creepy photographs Ransom collected over the years. Fiction and photography are so intricately woven together in this book and the photographs breathe so much life into this story. The characters have these really cool supernatural abilities and the whole book is really action-packed! It was such a fun read and I would love to hear Ransom Riggs talk more about this book, how he came up with the idea and why he started collecting photographs in the first place. Plus, I would want to applaud him for writing such an amazing book and beg him to write another one like this.

Another series I read a few years back was The Immortals by Alyson Noel and this was a very fascinating series. The main character can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone’s entire life story by touching them. These books were so freaking good, I devoured them like they were nothing. I hadn’t read any books like these before and I absolutely loved them! I would love to ask Alyson so many questions about these books, like how she came up with the idea, what kind of research she had to do, how long it took her to plan these books because there was six in total. Six! It must have took a hell of a lot of planning and outlining. I would love to ask both Ransom Riggs and Alyson Noel how much time it took them to plan their stories and what kind of outline they had to write for the plot and the characters. They are both really creative and unique stories and I am super interested in the world building they did for them.

There you have it! My perfect panel of authors I’d love to meet and hear them speak at a conference! I’d love to know who some of your favourite authors are and which authors you’d most like to meet! Are any of yours on this list? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “My Dream Book Conference

    • Beth says:

      Hey! Thank you so much! I just read yours and thought it was great 😀 I would love to see Haymitch and Sirius in the same room, it would be so interesting and funny haha 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

