Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Used to Love but Don’t Anymore

Hey guys! This week’s topic is characters you used to love but don’t anymore! You either outgrew them or your outlook changed and now you can’t stand them. Maybe you don’t even hate them, you just are neutral about them when you used to run a fan blog about them. This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

This topic is so interesting and I had to think real hard about it but I came up with some characters. I’d be interested to know if you guys share the same characters as me!

fallen1)  Lucinda Price (Fallen by Lauren Kate)

I really liked Luce when I first started reading the Fallen series. But… when I got to the second or third book I found myself disliking her more and more. She just became really annoying and brought every book down. I liked all the other characters it was just Luce I really started to hate which is annoying since she is the main freaking character! I really can’t remember how or why I finished these books since I disliked Luce so much… I guess I just really needed to know how it was all going to end?

 

 

 

The Vampire Diaries2) Elena Gilbert (The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith)

This is probably more for the TV show since I didn’t end up finishing the books. I used to adore Elena so much and gushed about it all over Twitter every episode. Yup. But then she just became so irritating and I couldn’t stand her. I just got really annoyed because she came across as a hypocrite at times and it annoyed me how she could never decide between Stefan and Damon. She just constantly messed them about. The whole love triangle just made me completely hate this show and Elena is a character I just outgrew and moved on from.

 

 

thg3) Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins)

I guess I just jumped on the bandwagon when I read these books. Everyone was creating a frenzy about these books and I picked them up after my friend told me to read them. I did like Katniss but my real love after all these years is for Gale. When I got to the third book I just got so fed up of Katniss and I don’t like her at all now.

 

 

 

 

Marked4) Zoey Redbird (Marked by P.C. Cast and Kristen Cast)

I used to love Zoey so much. I thought she had a really cool name and I was a little jealous. She was one of my favourite characters before this series started to go downhill. I have mentioned these books in a previous Top 5 Wednesday post and like I said before, I did not like the portrayal of Zoey throughout the books. I started to get irritated by her and all of the other characters were annoying me, too. I thought they really killed her character and it got to the point where I finished one book and didn’t bother picking the next up. Shame really but I think I am at the point of no return now. I have outgrown these books and moved on to others.

 

Divergent5) Tris Prior (Divergent by Veronica Roth)

When I first started Divergent I absolutely loved Tris. She was one of my favourite characters! I just loved how strong and fearless she was! She risked everything to do what she thought was right and best for her. She lost so many people she cared about but still continued to fight for what she believed in. I loved her for that. But then when I read Insurgent and Allegiant my opinion of her completely changed. She became really annoying, she constantly lied to Four and argued with him. It really made me start to hate the story which is disappointing considering how much I loved the first book.

 

 

There you have it! Characters I used to love but not anymore. Do I feel sad about it? Not really, if I’m honest. I have a lot of characters now that I adore and probably a bunch of new ones as I read more books. Hope you guys enjoyed this post and feel free to leave links to your post in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Used to Love but Don’t Anymore

  1. thenightisdarkandfullofbooks says:

    Interesting list! I finally finished Catching Fire, about two years after I started it. I’m still liking Katniss but who knows where I’ll stand after the last one. I understand the feeling though. With hyped books I always get the feeling I would have enjoyed it more if I wouldn’t have heard about it a million times before starting it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

