October Wrap Up & Book Haul!

Hey guys! I’m actually combining my wrap up and my book haul posts because this month has been such an awful reading month! I thought it was bad that I only read three books last month but this month I only read one. One freaking book! I have been in such a horrible slump that I only recently got out of and I was so annoyed because I wanted to read but I just couldn’t. I am really hoping I will be back to reading five books in November! It’s annoying because my goal is to read fifty books this year and so far I have read thirty four so I really could have done with reading another five books this month. I’m not sure if I will make fifty but I’m going to damn well try!

Wrap Up:

The Couple Next DoorThe Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

This book really helped me get out of my slump because it was such an easy read! It’s about a couple who leaves their six month daughter home alone while they go to a party next door. They agree to check on her every half an hour but when they check on her in the early hours of the morning, she is gone from her cot. She has been taken and they are left with no choice but to call the police and who knows what secrets they will uncover…

It was very interesting and full of so many exciting twists and turns. At first I thought it revealed the plot really early but it turns out there were more secrets to uncover and I honestly couldn’t put this book down. The ending was left on such a horrible cliffhanger though and I really hope there is a second book because I don’t think I can live with that cliffhanger in my life, I need answers. 

I would highly recommend this book if you are into crime thrillers and mysteries.

Book Haul:

Okay here is the fun part, the book haul! I bought a lot of books this month and I think I am going to go on a book buying ban now until January. I have some pre-orders early November but after that if there are any books I want I will ask for them for Christmas because I really need to get my TBR pile down.

one-plus-one1) The One Plus One by JoJo Moyes

I actually got this for free when I bought Me Before You on DVD which I was very happy about! I normally don’t read romance books and I’m not sure what this is about but I will give it a read at some point.

 

 

 

 

 

 

falling-kingdoms2) Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

I have been wanting to read this beautiful book forever. I have seen it all over BookTube and I fell in love with the cover! I searched everywhere for it but they only had the paperback which I believed didn’t do this cover justice so I purchased the hardback on Book Depository. I love it and I can’t wait to read it! The other covers look just as gorgeous, too!

 

 

 

 

Ember3) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I have already read this and love it but I just wanted the hardback version because my paperback is falling apart and I have A Torch Against the Night in hardback so I wanted my books to match. But they actually don’t match too well because An Ember in the Ashes is a lot bigger than A Torch Against the Night! 

 

 

 

 

 

moriarty5) Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz

I actually found this beauty in a charity shop for £1.99! I read The House of Silk and absolutely loved it! I tried reading this on my kindle and couldn’t get into it but so many people have said it’s amazing so I thought I would try reading the paperback instead. Sometimes I can only read a book in a certain format. I’m weird like that.

 

 

 

 

twilight6) Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Another charity shop find and possibly my favourite purchase this month! It is absolutely gorgeous and it’s in brand new condition! I was made up when I saw it and again for only £1.99! I have three copies of Twilight now and I regret nothing.

 

 

 

 

 

a-darker-shade-of-magic6) A Darker Shade of Magic & A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

I have not read any of V.E. Schwab’s books but I have heard a lot of great things about them! So I bought these two lovely books and I am super excited to read them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

City of Bones7) The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare (New editions)

Thankfully, I have already read these wonderful books so I don’t need to add these to my TBR! I wasn’t going to buy the new covers but I saw them for only £8 and I was like need. So… yeah, they’re mine now.

 

 

 

 

 

So as you can see, I like to buy a lot of books! Sadly it is definitely time I go on a book buying ban and try to read as many as I can before the end of the year. What books did you read and/or buy this month?

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up & Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

