Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

Hey guys! This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

This week’s topic is inaccurate book covers! It can be books with covers that have nothing to do with the story or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the actual main character, or it’s a really cheesy cover for a great read!

Shatter Me1) Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I know this is the original cover but I absolutely hate it. It makes me cringe so much when I look at it! I hate when they use real people for book covers because it just makes the book look so cheap and disgusting. Maybe I am being a bit harsh but I really, really, really don’t like real people on book covers. When you read a book, you are imaging all these wonderful places and characters, so why ruin it for you by sticking a real person on the cover? Plus, I’m assuming this girl is supposed to be Juliette, but this is not how I pictured her to look at all.

 

 

Us cover2) Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

This is actually the US cover but I had to include it because I do not like this cover. Compared to the UK cover, it literally tells you nothing about the story. If I saw this book on a shelf, I would not pick it up because it holds zero interest for me. The sole reason I bought Flawed was because the UK cover was so eye-catching and so beautiful. It made me think she was on a journey because she is walking along a path with her back to you. I know we all say we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but I do and I am judging this one.

 

 

3) Black IceBlack Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Again, this is actually the original cover and when I saw it, I refused to buy it. I have this weird obsession with my books having beautiful covers and I didn’t want to buy this because this cover is just horrible. The guy looks so weird and I was so shocked when they announced which character he was supposed to be because I did not picture that character to look like this at all. I was ecstatic when I found out they changed the cover because it definitely needed it.

 

 

 

tmr14) The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I don’t know if this is an unpopular opinion or not but I absolutely do not like this cover. I just think it looks really boring and they just didn’t bother trying when they made this cover. The Mortality Doctrine covers look so beautiful and you can tell a lot of effort has gone into them. Why not for these covers? They could have made these so damn pretty and it annoys me every time I look at them. The only thing they have going for them is the colourful spines.

 

 

 

va5) Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I didn’t like these books so it’s probably no surprise that I don’t like the cover either. This is such a boring cover in my opinion. Why is there a girl randomly in the background and why is she smiling? It makes me cringe so much and I still have no idea which character she is supposed to be? Possibly Rose? Is that right? Such disappointing covers.

 

 

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this week’s Top 5 Wednesday post! Which covers have you found to be inaccurate? I would love to hear what book covers you’ve had a rant over!

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

  1. wordsandotherbeasts says:

    I agree with 1,2 and 5. 1 is quite a corny cover. I don’t mind real people being used on covers sometimes if it looks artistic. If it’s just a girl pouting like in the cover for Shatter Me then it just looks corny. 2 and 5 I agree are really boring. The cover for Flawed looks like it hasn’t been finished and the Vampire Academy series has never appealed to me anyway because 1) I’m over the vampire phase and 2) like you said, the cover is really not eye catching. Great picks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      That’s true! There is quite a few real people on covers that I do like but I think it’s because they aren’t looking directly at the camera. I hate when they look right at you, it just gives me the creeps xD I normally love white covers but I completely agree with you, it does look half finished! The UK cover is so colourful and bright so it makes this one look quite dull really. I think everyone is fed up of vampires now, haha! Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      You’d think they would stop putting real people on covers with the amount of people who hate it 😂 Unfortunately it is the UK cover! 😥 Such a shame the cover is so boring because the books are so intense!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      They really are and I honestly have no idea what they have to do with the book? The models on the cover don’t even look like the characters! That is so true! It really puts off books when the covers are like that which is a shame

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rabia says:

    I was just discussing that a lot of fantasy novels have covers that are inaccurate much more so than other covers. I definitely agree with you on the first one. I despise that cover. I like the one with the eye better but the original cover is definitely inaccurate

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Definitely! A lot of the time it just seems to be a person’s face on the cover which literally tells you nothing about the book 🙄 It just seems like the easy way out, like they couldn’t be bothered to design a proper cover? The Shatter Me cover with the eye is so beautiful! I don’t know what they were thinking when they made the original one

      Liked by 1 person

      • Rabia says:

        You know, something else is the person on the cover looks nothing like any of the characters. That is so frustrating to me. It does come off very lazy but I was told that that happens when the book is handled by different publishers or it’s a different edition. It’s so annoying but I try my best to have the matching pretty covers.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth says:

        Still they could at least get a model who has similar features to the main character! If one edition really annoys me I will go out of my way to find a cover I like haha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rabia says:

        Haha I don’t blame you. Now I don’t have much room for physical books so I’ve been getting e-books or I’ll borrow them from the digital library. Most times I get good editions of the covers

        Liked by 1 person

  3. whispersofthoughtsblog says:

    Ugh, the Shatter Me cover – Juliette never even wore a white dress as I recall. The new cover with the eye doesn’t have any realy connection to the story as well but at least it’s prettier. Just because it’s shiny doesn’t mean it’s better… The cover for Black Ice looks like a horrible photshop fail. And I absolutely HATE the covers for VA. The covers for Bloodlines series are even worse. Ugh, terrible covers are so not fair to the story inside.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth says:

      Can’t stop laughing at your Black Ice comment, it really does 😂👏 Yeah I thought the VA covers were bad but then I saw Bloodlines… those covers are embarassing. I totally agree because if people haven’t heard of them before they might be put off by the covers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

