REVIEW: Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson

DreamlandTitle: Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson
Pages: 332
Published by: Hodder Paperbacks
Publication date: 22nd September 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

Dea Donahue has been able to travel through people’s dreams since she was six years old. Her mother taught her the three rules of walking: Never interfere. Never be seen. Never walk the same person’s dream more than once. Dea has never questioned her mother, not about the rules, not about the clocks or the mirrors, not about moving from place to place to be one step ahead of the unseen monsters that Dean’s mother is certain are right behind them.

Then a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town and Dea finally starts to feel normal. As Connor breaks down the walls that she’s had up for so long, he gets closer to learning her secret. For the first time she wonders if that’s so bad. But when Dea beaks the rules, the boundary between worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know that’s real and what’s not?

My review:

So I finally read this book! It has been on my TBR for a few months now and I’m very pleased to say I finally found the time to read it! When I finished it, I had mixed feelings about it because, for me, it was definitely a cover buy. The cover just completely drew me in right from the start and the synopsis sounded amazing. It really did sound like this completely awesome fantasy book.

The start was really slow and at first I was contemplating giving it up and moving on to something else because I just couldn’t get into it and I’m someone who likes books to grab me from the very first page. I didn’t really click with Dea and I felt that I couldn’t relate to her. Also, it really threw me off that her friend is nicknamed Gollum. That made me cringe a lot, every time she was mentioned actually and it really put me off reading it. We learn that she got that nickname from bullies which annoyed me that her own friend, Dea, would start calling her that too? What a horrible name for your friend to call you, that was a big no no for me.

Anyway, around sixty pages in it did pick up the pace and started to get insanely good. I thought that the plot was explained really well and it was easy to understand how Dea can travel through people’s dreams. I thought the rules were pretty good and I loved that there were dangerous consequences for breaking those rules. It made it such an exciting story because you’re just waiting for that moment when Dea breaks the rules and gets caught. It was a nice build up to that point and there was a lot of unexpected twists and turns after that.

For some reason, I got it into my head that Connor was the bad guy. I don’t know why, I must have read the synopsis differently in my head and then become convinced he was a villain? Very strange but it did make for a nice surprise when he turned out to be a good guy and actually a love interest for Dea. I really liked Connor and I felt so sorry for him because he has a terribly tragic past. Dea’s life, whilst not tragic, is very confusing and definitely lonely because she is constantly moving and never settling in one place. So I liked the fact that Dea and Connor helped each other deal with their problems and comforted one another.

I’m not sure what happened for the last 100 pages or so because it got very confusing. I struggled to understand what was happening and it wasn’t explained very well in my opinion. It felt like driving along a straight road and then suddenly taking a sharp right. I failed to see the relevance and felt like it literally just appeared out of no where. There is a really, really, really unexpected twist at the end and, without giving away spoilers, I feel like recently this twist is in so many books that it’s getting ridiculous. It’s like back when all authors wrote about was dystopia and you were just begging for them to stop. I’m not really interested in this twist and have been avoiding books like this but I suppose this one wasn’t all bad because it’s just so surprising and unexpected. I give the author a round of applause for coming up with this story and if someone guessed where this was going then I give them a huge pat on the back because I had absolutely no idea.

Finally, I have no idea if this is a stand alone or if it’s part of a series? The author said it was a stand alone but after that ending I freaking hope not. It leaves you with so many unanswered questions and not in a good way. It hints at future events and you are left partly on a cliffhanger. It would be nice to see where Dea’s future lies because I feel like she was forced into that ending and if she had a choice, she definitely wouldn’t have picked that.

I will definitely read this book again because it was a very enjoyable read despite the problems I had with the ending.

Leave a Reply

