Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

Hey guys! This group was created by Lainey (Gingerreadslainey) and is hosted by Sam (ThoughtsOnTomes). If you want to participate, check out the link on Goodreads here.

I thought this was quite a fun choice for this week and I really enjoyed writing this post! But these books really were a struggle to finish and I couldn’t wait to dive into a book I would actually enjoy. Basically, if you really liked these books then maybe don’t read my comments because they aren’t pretty.

Ice like fire1) Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch

I freaking loved Snow Like Ashes, it was such an amazing fantasy book and I was so excited to get my hands on the second book Ice Like Fire. But, unfortunately, it was a massive let down compared to the first book. I have no idea what happened but the story just fell flat for me it really dragged on and I grew so bored of reading this book. It definitely wasn’t as enjoyable and Mather had a few chapters but he didn’t bring anything new or exciting to the story, he just complained about how horrible his life was and I absolutely hate whiny characters. I just can’t stand them, they ruin the book. I have got the last book Frost Like Night which I am excited to read and I’m really hoping it is a lot better than the second book!

Library of Souls2) Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

What happened with this book? First book was just wow, amazing. Second book? Awesome all the way. This book? No, no, no. Again, no idea what went wrong considering the last book should be mind blowing but instead this was incredibly boring. It took me weeks to finish this and it’s not because I didn’t want this trilogy to end. It was because nothing exciting was happening and they took away all my favourite characters. We had the same story all the way through the book, nothing else happened apart from that which is disappointing since so much happened in the first two.

 

 

Bane3) The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

I love Magnus Bane so much. He is one of my favourite fictional characters as are a lot of Cassandra’s wonderful characters. But I had issues with this book. I did really enjoy it but I took me so long to finish because I just wasn’t feeling it as much as the other books. I do enjoy short stories but for some reason they aren’t as enjoyable as the actual main books. I do really love this book because it’s all about Magnus Bane, what’s not to love? But it took me so long to finish.

 

 

 

Four4) Four by Veronica Roth

Again, I did enjoy learning more about Four and his life, but this book just wasn’t as enjoyable as the Divergent books. Mainly because there wasn’t a proper story, it was just loads of little stories put together so we could piece together what Four’s life was like before he met Tris. I was disappointed by this but it did set up my expectations for any future short stories so there’s that.

 

 

 

wool5) Wool by Hugh Howey

This was so painful to read, it took me so freaking long. It sounded so interesting and exciting, it kind of reminded me of Divergent but when I actually started reading it, it was horrible. I could not get into it at all, I could not connect to the characters in any way. I have the second book but I really don’t know if I’m going to read it or not. I just have so many other books I want to read and there’s constantly new books coming out so I don’t think I’ll ever get to it.

 

 

 

I think that’s all the books that took me longest to read! I’ll be honest and say I can’t really remember what books took me the longest to finish, these ones just stuck out for me and I remember being so bored reading them. What books took you the longest to finish? Are any of your choices on this list?

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

    • Beth says:

      I would read it because it is pretty funny it just takes such a long time to finish. I think I would like a proper story about Magnus more than I would short stories to be honest

      Like

  1. Katie G says:

    I have heard several people say The Bane Chronicles are a slow read but I still want to read it. I really enjoyed Tales From Shadowhunter Academy so I feel like I should read Magnus’ story too since it’s the only Shadowhunter thing I haven’t read yet

    Like

    • Beth says:

      Ooh I haven’t read the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy yet! I’m waiting for the hardback to come out next month 🙂 Happy to hear you enjoyed it! You should definitely read it, I don’t regret it at all it was really funny but it just took so long to read. I think it dragged on a bit too because it was 500 pages

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

