September Wrap Up!

September has been an absolutely terrible reading month for me. I have read three books this month. Three books. I am so disappointed! It’s been a really busy month and I’ve just not had a lot of time to read. Here is what I did manage to read:

demon-hunters1) Demon Hunters: Trinity by Olivia Chase

I received this on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. It was quite good but I just felt that I was a little too old for it and it was suited more for younger readers. There were some parts that annoyed me and didn’t really make sense. I’m not sure if I will read the next book it really depends on the synopsis. It’s about called Diana who feels that she has never really had a normal life. Her dad is an occult hunter and published author so she finds herself uprooted by investigations and this time she is moving to Edinburgh. It’s not long before her recurring nightmares start coming true and her destiny changes forever. After her dad goes missing, she becomes part of a Trinity of Demon Hunters. Along with her two new friends, she needs to face down death, rescue her dad and save their city. There’s only one question left to answer: how do you kill a dead man? You can read my full review here.

A World Without You2) A World Without You by Beth Revis

This was my favourite read this month. I absolutely adored this book and the main character, Bo. It was such a wonderful but heartbreaking story and it was told beautifully. I thought it was a really unique idea and combining mental illness with time travel, it made it such an interesting read. The main character, Bo, has always had delusions that he can travel through time. When he is sent to a school for troubled youth, he assumes that he’s actually attending a school for kids with superpowers. At the academy, he falls in love with a girl called Sofia. But when she commits suicide, he is convinced that she is not actually dead. He believes that she is stuck somewhere in time – that he somehow left her in the past, and that now it’s his job to save her. As he becomes more and more determined to save her, he must decide whether to face his demons head-on or succumb to a psychosis that will let him be with the girl he loves. Doesn’t this book sound amazing?! You can read my full review here.

Dreamland3) Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson

It took me a while to get into this book because it didn’t really start getting good until 50 pages in. I’m really glad I didn’t give it up and move onto another book because it got so freaking good. I was completely sucked into the story and I really enjoyed it. Dea is the main character and she can travel through people’s dreams but there has always been three rules: Never interfere, never be seen and never walk the same person’s dream more than once. But when a mysterious new boy, Connor, comes to town she finally starts to feel normal but then Dea breaks the rules of walking and the boundary between the worlds begins to deteriorate. How can she know what’s real and what’s not? Full review to come!

I know I didn’t read a lot of books but like I said before, A World Without You was definitely my favourite. Please, please, please read this book. I loved it so much and I can’t wait to re-read it soon! What books did you read this month? Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

