REVIEW: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #1)

Shatter MeTitle: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 338
Published by: HarperCollins
Publication date: 15th November 2011
Genre: Dystopian
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK Book Depository

Synopsis:

I have a curse. I have a gift.

I’m a monster. I’m more than human.

My touch is lethal. My touch is power.

I am their weapon. I will fight back.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

My review:

Wow, where do I start? I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I’m so glad I picked it up. It was so interesting with words constantly being crossed out and re-written. I’ll be honest, I thought this would irritate me and make it a pain to read, but it wasn’t at all. It seemed to register in my mind that this is what Juliette wanted to say but then she said something else instead. She just wasn’t confident in herself and she seemed to have no idea what she really wanted to say. Words just seemed to pour out of her and at times the writing was a little all over the place but it was interesting because it was such a unique way to write. She saw the world through an entirely different view to others and it was so fascinating being in her head with her and experiencing all these strong emotions. Just to give you a glimpse of what this book is like, here is a quote from Chapter Two:

“I always wonder about raindrops.

I wonder about how they’re always falling down, tripping over their own feet, breaking their legs and forgetting their parachutes as they tumble right out of the sky toward an uncertain end. It’s like someone is emptying their pockets over the earth and doesn’t seem to care where the contents fall, doesn’t seem to care that the raindrops burst when they hit the ground, that they shatter when they fall to the floor, that people curse the days the drops dare to tap on their doors.

I am a raindrop.”

See what I mean? I have never read a book with writing like this, it’s fascinating. Juliette is all over the place at the start and I honestly don’t blame her. She’s been through a lot but all she wants is to love and be loved back. It’s utterly heartbreaking. I felt so incredibly sorry for Juliette and how she had been treated. Her life wasn’t great and my heart broke for her. When we are first introduced to her, she is such a fragile and vulnerable little girl. However, at the end of the book she is like a completely different person. She doesn’t cross as many sentences and words out like she does at the start which suggests that she is more confident in herself and what she has to say. She transforms into this strong fighter, determined to right the wrongs in the world. She has no interest in revenge and war, all she wants is to help others despite the abuse she has suffered over the years. I can’t wait to see her fight back in Unravel Me!

Another character that I was fascinated with was Warner. Like Juliette, he was such a unique character. He reminded me of Juliette a lot of the time because he thinks and feels in similar ways to her. But he’s different because he wants her to take revenge on the world and wreak havoc with him. I loved the scenes he shared with Juliette, the conversations they had captured my attention completely, nothing else mattered but the two of them. I was completely hooked on them and I am definitely Team Warner. I always fall for the bad guys, every single time. But Warner is just… I don’t know how to explain. He seems like Juliette at times, vulnerable and just needing a friend. I’m interested to see his character develop over the next two books.

I didn’t like Adam, I have no idea why. All through the book I was very suspicious of him and didn’t trust him at all. It’s weird because all he wanted to do was help Juliette escape from Warner and get her to safety. But I didn’t trust him at all, don’t ask me why because I really don’t know. It was just a feeling I had about him even though he was like the most genuine character in the book. He was so nice to Juliette and stuck by her side all throughout the book.

I really liked the story but about halfway through the book, it started to feel a bit repetitive. Basically every conversation Warner has with Juliette he’s trying to convince her to join him and destroy everyone and she’s just like no, I don’t want to hurt anyone. I felt like banging my head against a brick wall at times and even found myself begging her to say yes to him just so something different and exciting would happen. But towards the end it gets really good and some exciting stuff is revealed which makes Juliette question everything she’s ever known about herself. I felt like the ending was really abrupt and sudden, I wasn’t expecting it really but I don’t mind because I already bought Unravel Me. 

If you haven’t read Shatter Me yet, please read it! It’s really good and I hate myself for not reading it sooner. I can see now why everyone loves Warner and for ages I’ve wanted to love his character myself. I can now finally say I do like Warner, happy days.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me #1)

Leave a Reply

