August Book Haul!

Hey guys! It’s that time of the month again where I share with you all the books I purchased this month! I’m so excited to read these books!

Nevernight1) Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

I’m going to be totally honest when I say that this was a cover buy. The cover, and pretty much the whole book, is gorgeous. I seriously can’t stop taking it off my shelf and stroking it and admiring it. I’m so excited to read it because it sounds amazing! I will definitely be posting a review on it when I get the chance to read it.

Synopsis:

Destined to destroy empires, Mia Corvere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and daemons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no ordinary school, but Mia is no ordinary student.
The shadows love her.
And they drink her fear.

HOW AMAZING DOES THIS BOOK SOUND? I’m so ecstatic to have this!

Ignite me2) Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Another cover that is just gorgeous, I have no words. The Shatter Me series have such beautiful covers, I can’t. If I ever wrote a book I would die if my covers looked like this. I am in love with them. Since this is the last book in the series, I won’t leave a synopsis incase it spoils anyone! Just know that these books are amazing and you really have to read them. I’ll be posting a review for Shatter Me in a few days!

 

 

 

Unite Me3) Unite Me by Tahereh Mafi

This includes two short stories: one from Warner’s perspective (Destroy Me) and another from Adam’s perspective (Fracture Me). It also includes snippets from Juliette’s journal which I’m excited to read! I’m currently reading Destroy Me and Warner is such a fascinating character, I’m excited to learn more about him!

 

 

 

 

Harry Potter4) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One & Two by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Goes without saying that everyone is pretty damn excited about this! I already read it earlier in the month, my review is here if you want to check that out. It was an enjoyable read but I found it a bit predictable at times.

Synopsis:

The eighth story. Nineteen years later…

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

Snow Like Ashes5) Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (Hardback)

I’ve already read this book and I loved it so much! I originally bought the paperback version but because I have Ice Like Fire in hardback and I’ve pre-ordered Frost Like Night in hardback, I decided to buy the first book in hardback so I’ll have a nice pretty set! I can’t be the only one who does this and completely justifies it just so my series will match, right? If you haven’t read this pretty book, here is a synopsis:

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

HF6) City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (Paperback)

Okay, so, the reason I bought this was because I pre-ordered City of Heavenly Fire when it first came out and it came as a giant ass book, it was seriously huge. And it didn’t match my beautiful set because of how big it was. That was upsetting. Anyway, I finally saw a paperback in the bookshop and it was just calling to me so… yeah, I bought it. I have no regrets because now my set matches! I won’t include a synopsis because this is the last book in the series so it will have tons of spoilers! I love this series so much and that cover… it’s just so beautiful.

 

Thrones

7) A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I have been wanting to read these books for about a year now, maybe more? They just look so interesting and I’ve heard so many great things about them. I was scared to buy the whole set because I was worried I wouldn’t like them and I’d waste a lot of money buying the boxset. This cover was only £4 so I’m pretty happy with that! I didn’t realise how giant these books were, jeez! It’s gonna take a lot of time to get through this.

Synopsis:

‘When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground’

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

From the fertile south, where heat breeds conspiracy, to the vast and savage eastern lands, all the way to the frozen north, kings and queens, knights and renegades, liars, lords and honest men . . . all will play the Game of Thrones.

Broken Heart8) Broken Heart by Tim Weaver

love these books. So much. It’s part of A David Raker Thriller series and they are just incredible. I would highly recommend them if you are into crime thrillers and mystery books. They really get you on the edge of your seat and completely immersed in the story. They really do have a lot of twists and turns and I’m so glad I picked these books up.

Synopsis:

Where did she go?
What did she know?

A woman drives to a secluded beauty spot on the Somerset coast.
CCTV watches her enter but doesn’t see her leaving.
In fact, Lynda Korin is never seen again.

How can someone just disappear?

Her sister calls missing persons investigator David Raker.
For him, the mystery of where she went is only the start. The real question is why a woman with no reason to run would choose to leave her entire life behind?

Was it her decision? Or did someone make it for her?

Raker is an expert at following the echoes of decades-old lies. But only Lynda Korin knows the most shocking secret of all – and she’s missing, presumed dead…

A Court of Mist and Fury.jpg9) A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (Hardback)

I already own this in paperback and the reason I decided to buy it in hardback was because I was really struggling with how small the writing is in the paperback. I hate books with tiny writing because they give me such a bad headache and I get really angry and frustrated. It makes me not enjoy the book, makes me put the book down and never pick it up again. Sigh. I saw the hardback in Waterstones and the writing is so much more bigger, I nearly cried in relief. I want to read this book but I just can’t read the paperback. So now I have this beautiful hardback and I can’t wait to dive back in to Feyre’s world!

Okaaay… I’m a little surprised at how many books I bought this month because I really didn’t think I bought this many! But I’ve already read some of them so they won’t be added on to my TBR, yay! What a relief because it’s so big right now, it’s ridiculous. I hope you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

