5 Books That Made Me Cry

I rarely cry when I read books so I think when a book makes me cry, it becomes pretty special and definitely an unforgettable read. I thought I’d share with you some of those rare books and see if they also made you cry.

the book thief

1) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I read this book in 2013 and it was so captivating. It had such a massive impact on me and to this day it’s still my favourite book. Even now I still constantly go back to this book and think of the story and the characters. I fell in love with all of the characters they were written so well and I tell everyone I possibly can to read this book. The ending was incredibly sad and I cried so much, it was such an emotional book.

 

 

 

Private peaceful2) Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

This book… completely and utterly destroyed me. I was not prepared for that ending and I cried for hours hugging the book close to my chest. I remember it vividly… twelve year old me yelling at a book for ripping my heart out and stomping all over it. Thanks for that! But seriously this book was such a fantastic read and I’m so glad I read it even if it did ruin me and leave me in a crying mess. If I read it again now I would most definitely still cry. It’s one of those books that you can never get used to, it just shocks you every time you read it.

 

 

war horse3) War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

Ahh… Michael Morpurgo you sure like destroying your readers! I cried so damn much when I read this because I absolutely love horses and to read such a vivid book full of so much pain and suffering… I was utterly devastated. But I appreciated the fact that he was drawing people’s attention to all the horses that suffered in the war. Many people don’t realise the millions of horses that died in the war and this book really draws attention to that. The film was so beautifully done as well and it followed the book so closely.

 

 

thousand suns4) A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I read this in 2012 and it’s one of the saddest, most heartbreaking books I have ever read. It was such an emotional book and so beautifully told. It’s about arranged marriages and teenage girls who are forced to marry older men who then abuse them throughout the marriage. My heart broke so many times for Mariam, I’ve never hurt so much for a character. It also focuses on the Taliban taking over and then Mariam’s life becoming a constant struggle day after day, constantly living in starvation and fear. I was glued to this book, it was so captivating and definitely one of my top reads. I cried so much throughout this book which makes it different to the other books because I only cried at the end of them. I cried at the start of this one, several times during the middle of it and probably buckets worth at the end. I cried and cried and cried… and cried. It was a tough read. But definitely an unforgettable and worthy one.

Mountains5) And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini 

Another book by Khaled Hosseini! If you think A Thousand Splendid Suns sounds pretty emotional, I will gladly introduce you to And the Mountains Echoed! This book left me in such a mess. It’s about two siblings who get separated when their children because their father can only afford to take care of one of them. They then spend their whole lives searching for one another and when they finally find each other… it killed me. It absolutely killed me. I’m surprised my copy isn’t stained with my tears. It’s such a powerful story and it really shows the strong bond siblings share with one another. If you haven’t read Hosseini’s books before I would definitely recommend these two.

These were the books that immediately sprung to mind when I thought about writing this post. What books made you cry? I’m curious to see if anyone else has cried while reading these books or other books.

Leave a Reply

