REVIEW: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3)

Library of SoulsTitle: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs 
Pages: 458
Published by: Quirk Books
Publication date: 22nd September 2015
Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal
Format: Paperback
Amazon UK – Waterstones

Synopsis:

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued with Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

My review:

Library of Souls picks up where the second book, Hollow City, left off. With the help of Addison, Emma and Jacob were able to escape the wights but unfortunately, their friends didn’t. Their friends were captured and sped away on a train to an unknown location. Jacob is then attacked by a hollow but at the last second he manages to gain control over it and use it as a weapon. Library of Souls continues on from there and we see Jacob using the hollow to his advantage and fight off wights who have been sent to capture them.

I really enjoyed the first chapter, you dove right back into the peculiar children’s lives like you’d never left. It was full of action and suspense. But then I felt my interest start to dwindle and slowly flicker out. I grew tired of this book because it became incredibly slow with not a lot happening in my opinion. Sure, stuff happened but it wasn’t exciting or thrilling in any way. There was a brief scene when Jacob controlled the hollow again which was exciting but that only lasted a few pages. I think what disappointed me about this book was the lack of the peculiar children. They don’t make an appearance again until just after page three hundred. The whole book was Jacob and Emma with some other characters which I had no interest in, if I’m honest. I don’t like books that introduce you to all these amazing characters only to take them away from you for pretty much the whole of the book. I want to see these characters, they are what breathe life into the book. They are the reason I read these books, you know? Without them, it makes the whole story way less interesting.

I didn’t enjoy the photography as much either, I grew tired of the pictures and I felt like they were randomly placed in this book. There wasn’t as many and I felt like it was because they weren’t needed anymore and that they were only in this one because they were in the other two. Some of them were good but a lot of them I just wasn’t interested in and I spent less time looking at them than I did in the other two.

Another part I didn’t enjoy was how long they spent in one location. I think three hundred pages of the book is spent in Devil’s Acre which is where Addison tracked the other peculiar children. In the second book they go to so many different places and have to survive air raids and bombs which made the whole book incredibly exciting. But then we go to this book where they spend all their time in Devil’s Acre plotting a way to save their friends. It was so disappointing for me and I felt a bit let down. I put the book down and had to persuade myself to pick it back up again because I just wasn’t in the mood for it.

However, I am glad I did finish this book because the last hundred pages… wow! What? Whaaaat? It all just completely blew up at the end, there was so much action and I honestly lost track of how many times my mouth dropped open in shock. It was so insanely good! The pace just picks up so much and becomes incredibly fast. The first half of the book drags so much but then I literally sped through the second half.

I don’t know how I feel about the ending, I won’t tell you what happens because I don’t want to spoil it. I wasn’t expecting it and was expecting something else entirely. So I am glad of the ending because it was unpredictable but a happy one. I am disappointed that this was the last book, I feel like there should be another one after that ending.

Overall, this was a really good read but for the last book in the series I thought it could have been better. I will still one hundred percent recommend this series to anyone who loves fantasy and supernatural though because I do adore these books and I’m so excited for the film coming out!

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3)

Leave a Reply

