Book Covers: UK vs US (#1)

Hey guys! I am so sorry for the lack of posts this month! Had a bit of a crazy month and I have been working a lot so I’ve not had a lot of time to read. I thought I would do this post while you wait for my next review!

I have really been wanting to do this post for a while now! I first saw it on YouTube on Hails Hearts Nyc. The link to the video is here if you want to check it out! I then saw it posted on Charlotte Reads 26 and you can find that post here.

It looks really fun and there are quite a few covers that I prefer over the other. Sometimes I think the US one is nicer and then other times I prefer the UK one!

1) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I definitely prefer the UK Cover. I think it suits the book so much more, it works really well with the whole book being Liesel’s diary. The cover looks really worn and dirty like her diary would be after years of writing in it. The text works really well with the book as well because it looks like it has been written in pen. I also love how Death is on the cover and he’s dancing with a little girl. She’s playing with death and to me it works well with the book because it’s set in 1939 where everyone was fighting to survive.

2) Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This was such a hard decision… the white covers are gorgeous but I think overall I prefer the US one. They are so beautiful and I think they look so pretty on your shelf. The spine’s are perfect and I think the different colours are better. I do love white books though.

3) Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

Again, I prefer the UK cover. I just think it’s so much more pretty than the US one. The US one would catch my eye because of the colours but it wouldn’t intrigue me enough to pick it up if I’m honest. I like covers to stand out and really scream at me to read them! I love the UK cover with the different coloured font and Lou on the front cover.

4) Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

I think we can all agree that the US covers for the Percy Jackson books are gorgeous. The UK ones are so awful and I’m so upset that I don’t have the US ones. Seriously, they are so amazing and I can’t stop staring at photos of them on Instagram. Such beautiful covers… I wish they were mine.

5) Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

I definitely prefer the UK cover to the US one! The UK cover is so pretty and it really stands out for me. The colours are so beautiful and I love how it has the F sign in the middle and then all plants and leaves surrounding it. I love how Celestine is in the middle of the cover and she’s walking down this path. It really shows the journey she goes on throughout the book: from the first minute she is Flawed and how she deals with that knowledge. The US cover in comparison is very plain and it just wouldn’t catch my eye if I was browsing for books in a bookshop.

6) The Eye of Minds by James Dasher

The UK cover for this book is so amazing compared to the US one (sorry if you think otherwise). These books are amazing and the cover for the UK one just suits it so much better. I really don’t like the guy standing in the middle of the cover on the US one. Why does he need to be there? He looks a bit out of place. I also prefer the UK font, again, it just suits the book and plot a lot better.

There you have it! My little list of UK vs US book covers. There are probably so many other books with different US and UK covers that I could discuss but all my books are in bags (I’m getting a new bookshelf) and I can’t really remember any at the minute. These are the ones that popped into my head when I first thought about the different covers.

Leave a Reply

