July Wrap Up!

I’m quite happy with the books I read this month, I really enjoyed them and I already have an idea of what I want to read in August. For once I’m planning what to read! I normally just pick up whatever I feel like because I never stick to TBR lists. Anyway, here is what I read this month:

A Thousand Pieces of You1) A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

I really liked this book and thought it had a unique story. I thought that it was well thought out and it definitely had a lot of detail and it was presented really well. It switches between the past and the present throughout which I really liked because it doesn’t dump the story on you all at once but instead takes the time to explain everything to you. Unfortunately, one thing I didn’t like was the characters. I didn’t like Marguerite as much as I hoped and I definitely did not like the romance in this. I didn’t connect with Marguerite and Paul at all and I just couldn’t see how they were together. I really loved Theo and by the end of the book, he was my favourite character. You can read my full review here.

Ten Thousand Skies Above You2) Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

I thought this book was a lot better than the first I was completely hooked and I felt that I better connected with Marguerite. I love Theo and Marguerite’s friendship and how determined they are to save Paul. I still don’t like Marguerite and Paul as a couple which is disappointing but it hasn’t stopped me from wanting to read the final book. Theo is still my favourite character, I just love him so much. The ending was insane I was so shocked. I honestly have no idea what will happen next! I can’t wait for the final book to come out in November. Read my full review here.

 

Peculiar3) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This was so good I can’t believe I didn’t read it sooner. It combines fiction and photography to bring you the story of peculiar children from an orphanage. I found this incredibly fascinating and I just love how the whole story is built up from these peculiar photographs. Ransom Riggs has an insane imagination I applaud him so much for this book. I fell in love with so many characters, they were perfect. I connected with Jacob right from the start and thought that he was a really relatable main character. I love the peculiar children they all have such different personalities and I just love them all so much. This book was fantastic and if you like fantasy and supernatural, definitely read it! You can read my full review here.

hollow city4) Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

This was amazing! The story was incredibly good and the use of the photographs again blew me away. I’m so impressed by these books the world building is superb! The story in this book focuses on the children’s quest to save Miss Peregrine who is currently trapped in the body of a bird. What really surprised me was that Rigg’s focuses a lot on the war as well but not enough to draw you away from the story. The children have to take shelter from bombs and it really shows how terrifying the war was. I really enjoyed these scenes, I thought they were fascinating. The ending of this book was so good! It just demands that you pick up the final book, you can’t not pick it up after that ending! Read my full review here.

lies5) Lies by Michael Grant

Another great book I read this month. This is the third book in the Gone series and this series just keeps getter better and better. It was an incredibly action-packed book and I flew through it. At times I thought there was too many narrators, it has so many perspectives and you just get caught up in so many different lives and so many problems they are facing. But I still really enjoyed it and will definitely be continuing with this series. Another part I liked was the focus on Sam who is struggling to cope with the events of the previous book. I thought this was really well written and presented. I sympathised so much with Sam I really like his character. I can’t wait to read the next book and see what happens next in this series!

Leave a Reply

